We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the concerts, skip the hard sell”

Hoi An Handicraft Workshop
Ranked #39 of 128 things to do in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, CA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Come for the concerts, skip the hard sell”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was the top sight accessible with the Old Town Ticket in the historic part of Hoi An. I highly recommend coming for the concerts. The concert included traditional music, dance, singing, opera, etc. We were pleasantly pleased with an authentic, albeit low production value, traditional performance.

We came a bit early for a tour; however, the Handicraft workshop seemed to be a bit of a misnomer. We saw almost no handicrafts being made and instead were treated to a rather hard sell for silk lanterns that might as well have been made in China. That part of the visit is 100% skippable and was a bit uncomfortable.

Tip: Show up just in time for the performance and then escape immediately afterward--nothing else here to see.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryPlusPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    70
    32
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paris France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a very nice place to visit, with a wide range of products manually crafted by local craftsman. Our group participated in a workshop of making lanterns. You can buy clothing (suit, dress) custom made and delivered to the hotel in the late afternoon. Very professional and good quality. Restaurant under the trees in a beautiful setting, with good service. I spent a wonderful time in this place and I would revisit it with pleasure. Worth trying.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodrow H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This Shop is amazing!!! It is full of so many little gifts, and beautiful handicrafts.....perfect for everyone. Each piece has been individually crafted by a very talented artisan, who has a disability. There is also NO pressure to buy whilst you look around. We bought so many things from this shop, it really was hard not too. The quality is excellent, and price so reasonable you are hard pressed to find the same elsewhere. The jewelry, ceramics, and linen is absolutely gorgeous!! Also, you are helping an amazing cause!!! A must visit!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuyen Quang, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Expensive”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The prices are so high comparing to their neiboughers. They want to charge us bouble with the same items and same quality. Should not be back

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great little shop girls were so friendly”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We bought some amazing gifts from here a brass vase bowl type which you could put a tea light in and it lite up . It has a lid on it and was made by hand and has fine filigree work of roses all over it . Just amazing stuff all done by the handicap people . We bought money clip earrings bookmarks . Well worth a look

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi An Handicraft Workshop also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hoi An Handicraft Workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing