We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Go for the performances--well worth it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoi An Handicraft Workshop

Hoi An Handicraft Workshop
Ranked #32 of 115 things to do in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Go for the performances--well worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We really enjoyed the performances, but were not really interested in the products as we've seen the same things again again in our travels through Vietnam. The performances however are another thing--they're representative of central Vietnamese culture, and are entertaining as well. Did I also mention they're free?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sayang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    62
    28
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Place we liked best in Hoi an old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We made it there just in time for the performance at 3.15. The artists are very good and talented and people can sit on little stools and watch the performance. Was a great show, not too long. Lots of things to buy, not overpriced. The lanterns were lovely. So was the pottery section where we could actually see a woman make pots on her potter's wheel.There were carved bamboo roots that were impressive. Also bought some very pretty hand made silver earrings. Enjoyed the visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank divyaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tourist trap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a great experience to see the artisans at work, particularly the silk embroidery, which words can't describe how beautiful these pieces of work are. However, it must be noted that this is definitely a tourist shopping trap, and I think really aimed at 'tour groups'. The prices are reasonable, but you definitely feel a little hassled to buy something upon entering. We certainly did look like the odd ones out after walking out with nothing in hand given the variety of handicrafts! The building is lovely and old.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Mac_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

So much to see and buy. We would have missed this place if it hadn't been pointed out to us by our guide. Lovely silk paintings to buy and you get a quick tour and explanation/demonstration of how the silk worms develop and grow to finally produce the silk thread.
Worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nasus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Enormous choice of lacquers, paintings, and all sorts of stuff you don't need but will buy. Remember you have to carry it home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cjvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi An Handicraft Workshop also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hoi An Handicraft Workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing