We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger, idyllic spot!”
Review of Banyan Beach Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

Banyan Beach Bar and Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood, Vietnamese, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Relaxed, chilled out restaurant and bar on An Bang Beach. We cater for everyone including solo travellers, backpackers, family, surfers and couples. We have a great variety of food, cold beers, surfboards and international wines.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best burger, idyllic spot!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

A must do if you are looking for a relaxed yet modern vibe. Reasonably priced, good music, fantastic location and delicious food. We were craving some western food after days of sampling local vietnamese cuisine and the beef and cheese burger with a side of garlic potatoes hit the spot! Well prepared, tasty and fresh.

Helpful?
Thank robanddarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    37
    14
    3
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful escape from the tourist bustle of Hoi An”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We found the bar easily thanks to directions on Trip Advisor (last bar on left along the beach), after a cheap $4-$5 cab ride. My husband & I loved the relaxed atmosphere, friendly laid back service, good tunes & beautiful location- just the tonic to escape the tourist frenzy back in town. You still get some hawkers here but if you're here more than one day in a row they tend to leave you alone. Highly recommend the passionfruit mojitos!! A gorgeous way to unwind, thanks guys for the perfect beach experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FiTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Real Winner”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A little hard to find, but this is an absolute ripper.
Great views over the beach to the sea.
Relaxed atmosphere and as its run by westerners far more relaxed about having to pay for something as soon as you order it.
Grab a cabana on the beach, order some great food and a bottle of rose and while the afternoon away.
Arrrgh- now that's what I call holiday time!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamilmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesson, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very nice meal, great location”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

although it was a bit tricky to find (to An Bang beach, to the left, at the end of all the other restaurants and bars) but it was well worth the search. The meal was very nice, service a bit slow but maybe we shouldn't always be so much in a hurry and we spend a very nice afternoon, having lunch, going for a swim and having a game of baby foot and chess (part of the bar/ restaurant).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I read the reviews on trip advisor about Le Banyan Bar and was still sceptical it was going to be another beach front plastic chair restaurant, we arrived at about six o'clock and walked past several beach front restaurants until we reached the Le Banyan Bar at the end, once you walk through the open air entry you know you've made the right chic. You can eat inside or out. I suggest you book the large undercover table if you are in a group. The open air bar is in the middle of a beautifully grassed area with chairs and tables overlooking the An Bang beach and islands.

Our group consisted of four adults and four children 10, 8, 8 & 6, what can I say but an amazing setting perched up over the beach overlooking water and beautiful islands. The children occupied themselves with the outside pool table.

Julian and Gail, the owners could not do enough to ensure our evening was 10 out of ten. The children ate Pizza which was excellent and the adults shared several plates of tapas which was excellent. The drink prices were reasonable and the Mojito's the best we've had whilst travelling.
Although the menu is not extensive, the food is great and Julian only buys the freshest seafood and ingredients which are in season.

It was so good, we have booked again, we asked Julian if he could purchase a large fish to bake and large prawns which he had no problem in doing.

If you do nothing else whilst in Hoi An make the effort and have a drink or meal at the Le Banyan Bar.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tull33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banyan Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing