We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, homely and a nice place to get away from the tourists”
Review of Cam Chau Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cam Chau Homestay
Ranked #214 of 286 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We only stayed here for 3 nights and were warmly welcomed by our host family.

Van and Huyen (and Thinh their son)

our room was clean and had its own bathroom. breakfast included was great and we were also offered evening meals with the family too(WE had to offer to pay a contribution to the meals)

They had bikes we could use and the location was only a short 15-20 min stroll into town.

Van and Huyen speak a little english but really not too much and Thinh speaks a little more than his parents.

Loved it there,

NICE!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 64 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

On my first night I had a nightmare getting here from Da nang airport with a horrible taxi driver. But when I turned up in tears at 12am I was immediately welcomed by the Dung family. They have been so warm and welcoming. I have enjoyed having dinner with them and playing with their children. It is great for a solo female traveler because it is a warm homely environment. It is a short bike ride to the town and to the beach and the bikes are great for exploring. This home is great for a genuine Hoi An experience and escape from the tourists. Dung said that on the first day I was said and he wants to do everything to make me happy, Thankyou Dung family!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We only stayed for 2 days at the homestay of the family Dung. We would have loved to stay longer, but we booked our flight already. We were invited for diner with the family and also we could use the bikes for free.
Its a really good way to have a look in family life in Vietnam. I would recommend this to everyone. They have a very good guest room and one of the best breakfast I had in Vietnam.
Pieter en Maartje (Rotterdam Holland)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pieter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This homestay village which is located around 2km away from Hoi An Town (Phan Chau Trinh) has successfully hosted travelers/volunteers from Canada, India, England, Malaysia and Singapore etc.

My fiancé and I have taken a chance to stay at this place. Our reviews are as follows: -

With a modest fee of USD9-10+ , the homestay accommodation includes a private bedroom and bath, Internet and delicious breakfast in the morning of our choosing. Room keys are provided to secure our belongings when you wish to explore Hoi An.

The friendly and accommodating hospitality gives a comforting feeling and makes the stay simply worthwhile.

Thou language is a barrier (due to our poor conversant in Vietnamese) ,we were able to conversant with simple English, sign languages and gestures.

Verdict - If you are looking for an experience on what is it like to stay in Vietnamese home and open minded to meet people , you should considered Cam Chau homestay in your accommodation list when visiting Hoi An.

Room Tip: be mindful that you living with a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

It is my first time to Hoi An and after searching long and hard on the internet for a place to stay, I decided to book a room with Cam Chau homestay and stayed with Dung's family. The house is quietly hidden from the nearby shops, in a small and quiet village, 5 minutes by bike to the city center. I had a very nice room with private bathroom and they are both very clean. I stayed with the family for 5 nights and I was invited to have dinner twice and I have to say that It was so amazing to have dinner with Dung's family and the Vietnamese food that I had was so delicious. Breakfast was simple with omelet, bread, fruit and coffee and they also served me with Pho, noodle with beef. Laundry, bicycle and internet were free of charge.
I have no hesitation to stay there again and highly recommend to anyone coming to Hoi An to stay with a local family.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
realhoianhomestay, Guest Relations Manager at Cam Chau Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Dear our Guests!
On behalf of the local community of Thanh Nam village, we would like to express our appreciation for your stay with our hosts and It means you have contributed to the standard of living for the local people.
Warm regards,
Cam Chau homestay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Typique au vietnamien
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank soushie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.3 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
1.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Wellness Resort
2.0 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cam Chau Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cam Chau Homestay

Address: 157 Tran Nhan Tong | Thanh Nam hamlet, Cam Chau ward, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 286 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range: $33 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cam Chau Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idea on sustainable tourism, which benefits the local communities in Hoi An, Cam Chau homestay has been born to meet the idea. By using this kind of accommodation, guests are helping the local people improving their standard of living and preserving the traditional Vietnamese culture and environment. Staying with the local families, guests will have opportunities to immerse yourselves into the real Vietnamese culture, to experience the local daily life and food. Don't miss it!Cam Chau homestay is a complex of 12 houses located in a small and quiet Hamlet called " Thanh Nam ", just 5 minutes by bicycle to the city center of Hoi An. Every house has a private bedroom with En-suite bathroom or with shared use of the family bathroom and kitchen for guests ( 1 or 2 ) to stay with their family. Some of the rooms have air-conditioning and internet access. Meal for dinner can be available on request and guests could have dinner with the family. In case, guests would like to cook for their own, kitchen can be used.All families have TV & DVD players at the living rooms and of course, guests can use it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cam Chau Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing