We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fashionable Oasis”
Review of Metiseko

Metiseko
Ranked #37 of 405 Shopping in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Upon arriving in Vietnam, Metiseko French founders have been driven by a desire to create upscale and cosmopolitan quality clothing for men and women, accessories and homeware with a strong "Made in Vietnam" identity. From its base in Hoi An, Central Vietnam, Metiseko's Creative team take inspiration from Vietnamese traditions and landscapes to design original fabric that captures the essence of this fascinating country while remaining stylish and contemporary. The unique and creative collections are produced locally from quality Vietnamese silk and organic cotton, following socially and environmentally responsible principles. Visit our enticing shops in Hanoi, Hoi An and Ho Chi Minh City to experience the world of Metiseko and take home a long-lasting memory of Vietnam.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fashionable Oasis”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

In the midst of endless tailor stalls in Hoi An, this boutique is an oasis. The designer is a French woman married to a Vietnamese man. She designs the fabrics, as inspired by the sights of her adopted country. The garments are all of high quality and while they are more expensive than what you will see down the street, they are also much more unique.
The real treasure in this store is the service. Her staff are knowledgeable about the fabrics, the stories, the fits, and go above and beyond to help you find the best. They were witty, helpful, and sincere. I would recommend this shop to anyone - it is filled with delightful women's clothing, baby accessories, and home furnishings. Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    71
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful garments, the best staff”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This store has THE most beautiful clothes I have seen in a long time. Living in SE Asia makes it hard for a tall western woman to find clothes! Not only are the fabrics and the prints glorious, it's not like I had to lie on the floor to get into half the clothes! The sizing is great and seems to be avalible for the smaller and bigger person! There homewares and kids clothing are great too. So authentic!!

The staff are great too, it's unlike the other stores in the way that they don't follow you around and pressure you to buy! The experience is great! They leave you to browse and try on clothes with no pressure to purchase at all. The quality of the clothes is fantantastic, and I promise you will not find anything of this nature anywhere else in Hoi An.

I think it was they owner, a young French guy, he gave us the best resturant recommendation too - Soul Kitchen! Go there, after you have bought something from the store, it's fab!

You cannot go to Hoi An and not visit this shop! It's beautiful!

Helpful?
Thank NRBuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tasteful and excellent quality”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This shop really stands out from all the others in Hoi An! Yes, you need to expect to pay western prices but the cotton & silk are organic and made locally, and the quality and designs are superb. Erwan, the owner, is French and is passionate about his brand and the values behind it. We really enjoyed talking to him, and if we had the space in our backpacks and the budget we would have bought most things in the shop. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank fbparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive for Vietnam but well worth the effort”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Original organic cotton print homewares and clothes. You will be hard pressed to find anything else similar in Vietnam and beats the normal tourist purchases. However be prepared to pay western prices

Helpful?
4 Thank MariAlbiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best shop around the corner !”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Finding Metiseko was a tremendous surprise in the midle of my trip in Hoi An. In this beautiful town, you have over 400 clothes stores and most of the time, what you see really doesn't give you a thrill... Then, next to that lovely japanese bridge, I found this store where I simply wanted to buy everything for my girlfriend... An for our house and bedroom !
Anytime you touch a piece you understand the concept of quality coton and if you have any doubts about the fabrication, the managers are really helpful. Coming back to France, no one actually believed me when i said we bought this stuff in Vietnam. So basically I would say, yes, this is a really great adress if you stop by Hoi An? If you don't, they must have a shop in Hanoi too but I haven't been ; it should be all the same products so don't hesitate !

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank vincent e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metiseko also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Metiseko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing