We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, a prison cell is a 5* hotel compared to this!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi Pho Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoi Pho Hotel
Save
You added Hoi Pho Hotel to your Saves list
627 Hai Ba Trung | Town centre, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 163 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced, a prison cell is a 5* hotel compared to this!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay there. I guess if you read this, it's because it's already too late as you stayed there. Can't see any othet reason why else you would look this hotel up. Dirty, aged rooms and furniture. Big room but would rather stay in a prison cell or in a basic bungalow especially you paying for the price of a decent hotel room fee. Staff are arogant, she told me she was going to search my bag for my passport if i don't leave it with her at reception. I didn't leave it there, she made me pay up front. HORRIBLE PLACE.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBalaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Do not stay at this hotel!! The staff forced us to leave the key at reception when we went out, then used it to enter the room, rummage through our bags and take the money we had set aside for our visas for our travels. We were horrified to read so many other similar reviews from travellers and checked out to another hotel nearby. Do not stay at Hoi Pho Hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikki_richo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

...... First they got annoyed when we took the $12 room over the $15 room.... They act so nice to ur face, then they ask u where your going and using ur key u have to leave at reception, they let themselves in and help them selves to money.... We are so lucky we only had $20 and some Malaysian money In the room ( in our backpacks) but they took everything except a $1 note!!!! They push tours on u and bus tickets to ur next destination!.... We didn't book anything from them, we just got the hell outta there... They're just a bunch of fake, thieving cons!!! dONOT sTAY hERE!!! ....oh and not to mention the ripped bed sheets and white towels that are brown!!! Bec and vikki Australia

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beccak885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Given the price the room was simply horrible. The linen and the towels were clean but so old that they were not white anymore, not to talk about the strange red spots on them. I was clearly overcharged as the staff pretended the prices exposed (250) were in dollars and not in dongs, well they either forgot to add a comma or they are scammers. Same thing with the My Son tour, the reception tried to sell me the tour for 200% of the average cost. I really didn't feel this place was worth the fame it got because of Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eisht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Toilet of a place. We did the over nighter and arrived shattered and just wanting somewhere to crash. Computers were broken, wifi on the blink, holes in bed sheets, blood spots and stains on bed sheets, bed sheets damp, over priced laundry service, jacked up prices at check in desk, staff unhelpful. 8 of us checked in and by the evening all 8 were looking for somewhere else to stay. Places just up the street were around the same price and soooo much nicer! Do not stay here..it's a toilet!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This place needs to straighten its self out, as well as hire some new staff. The rooms were filthy and the staff weren't interested in giving any of their time to you. When my friend arrived in his room the sheets on his bed were still wet and when he complained they basically told him to build a bridge and get over it. My other friend found blood stains on her sheets. In a nutshell Hoi Pho sucks. If I wanted to stay in squaller I'd sleep in a cardboard box before coming back there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannyblue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My time here has been pleasent.
Firstly after reading the previous reviews of past guests. I can appriciate your frustrations. I travel a lot in South east Asia and have experienced many things as a traveller.
firstly the ladies on the front desk were friendly with me and told me the rules. Take your cash out with you..... So I did... No money stolen. secondly they said if you have computers/passport etc leave with them in their secrutity boxs. I got them back.
One advice to all western travellers we have standards and these are growing countries with a different culture, if you raise your voice and go on the western sensation shouting because they are not up to our western expectations the Asian culture means that you loose face, and they will not help you. Do it with a smile even if, you are so Pi**ed off, dont loose your dignity.

The ladies here are concerned with their feedback on trip advisor and I have given them the following to improve on.

1) Get feedback forms so that your guests can give you formative feedback.
2) They need to improve their cleaners in their complancancy, there is no continutiy such as when we expect the room to be cleaned, that means clean sheets, empty the bin etc.
3) They clearly state that you need to keep your money with you........ If you leave and it is stolen yeah its rubbish... but that is your fault. But they as employers need to find out who the culpirate is, but it is also our responsibility to make sure we lock up and protect our valuables.
4) Make sure that we as westerners are locking and securing our own goods. Bring a lock.
5) The hotel needs us to give advice for them to develop, I advised the manager to check all staffs bags when they leave.
6) Hoi An is expensive anyway so you get what you pay for.
7) Give the place a paint and really scrub the bathrooms down, freshen the place up.
8) Overall it was ok, there are always room to improve on anything, we also need to be saying to any hotel if we are not happy, but do it in a way that keeps you calm and gets you somewhere.

The hotel wants to improve so start giving some good advice with a smile and things will improve slowly. If you have had things stolen then we need to take some responsibilty but also all hotels do as well with regard to the staff they employ and this is something that I have told them to consider. Its understanding each others culture and breaking down the invisable walls.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beccajstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#70 of 113 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Long Life Hotel
Hoi An Long Life Hotel
#83 of 113 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thanh Binh II Hotel
Thanh Binh II Hotel
#105 of 113 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#63 of 113 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thanh Binh III Hotel
Thanh Binh III Hotel
#97 of 113 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#39 of 113 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi Pho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi Pho Hotel

Address: 627 Hai Ba Trung | Town centre, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 82

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing