We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money stolen by hotel staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi Pho Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hoi Pho Hotel
Ranked #152 of 192 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Money stolen by hotel staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Do not stay at this hotel!! The staff forced us to leave the key at reception when we went out, then used it to enter the room, rummage through our bags and take the money we had set aside for our visas for our travels. We were horrified to read so many other similar reviews from travellers and checked out to another hotel nearby. Do not stay at Hoi Pho Hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikki_richo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    12
    11
    41
See reviews for
2
43
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

...... First they got annoyed when we took the $12 room over the $15 room.... They act so nice to ur face, then they ask u where your going and using ur key u have to leave at reception, they let themselves in and help them selves to money.... We are so lucky we only had $20 and some Malaysian money In the room ( in our backpacks) but they took everything except a $1 note!!!! They push tours on u and bus tickets to ur next destination!.... We didn't book anything from them, we just got the hell outta there... They're just a bunch of fake, thieving cons!!! dONOT sTAY hERE!!! ....oh and not to mention the ripped bed sheets and white towels that are brown!!! Bec and vikki Australia

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beccak885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Given the price the room was simply horrible. The linen and the towels were clean but so old that they were not white anymore, not to talk about the strange red spots on them. I was clearly overcharged as the staff pretended the prices exposed (250) were in dollars and not in dongs, well they either forgot to add a comma or they are scammers. Same thing with the My Son tour, the reception tried to sell me the tour for 200% of the average cost. I really didn't feel this place was worth the fame it got because of Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eisht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Toilet of a place. We did the over nighter and arrived shattered and just wanting somewhere to crash. Computers were broken, wifi on the blink, holes in bed sheets, blood spots and stains on bed sheets, bed sheets damp, over priced laundry service, jacked up prices at check in desk, staff unhelpful. 8 of us checked in and by the evening all 8 were looking for somewhere else to stay. Places just up the street were around the same price and soooo much nicer! Do not stay here..it's a toilet!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This place needs to straighten its self out, as well as hire some new staff. The rooms were filthy and the staff weren't interested in giving any of their time to you. When my friend arrived in his room the sheets on his bed were still wet and when he complained they basically told him to build a bridge and get over it. My other friend found blood stains on her sheets. In a nutshell Hoi Pho sucks. If I wanted to stay in squaller I'd sleep in a cardboard box before coming back there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannyblue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My time here has been pleasent.
Firstly after reading the previous reviews of past guests. I can appriciate your frustrations. I travel a lot in South east Asia and have experienced many things as a traveller.
firstly the ladies on the front desk were friendly with me and told me the rules. Take your cash out with you..... So I did... No money stolen. secondly they said if you have computers/passport etc leave with them in their secrutity boxs. I got them back.
One advice to all western travellers we have standards and these are growing countries with a different culture, if you raise your voice and go on the western sensation shouting because they are not up to our western expectations the Asian culture means that you loose face, and they will not help you. Do it with a smile even if, you are so Pi**ed off, dont loose your dignity.

The ladies here are concerned with their feedback on trip advisor and I have given them the following to improve on.

1) Get feedback forms so that your guests can give you formative feedback.
2) They need to improve their cleaners in their complancancy, there is no continutiy such as when we expect the room to be cleaned, that means clean sheets, empty the bin etc.
3) They clearly state that you need to keep your money with you........ If you leave and it is stolen yeah its rubbish... but that is your fault. But they as employers need to find out who the culpirate is, but it is also our responsibility to make sure we lock up and protect our valuables.
4) Make sure that we as westerners are locking and securing our own goods. Bring a lock.
5) The hotel needs us to give advice for them to develop, I advised the manager to check all staffs bags when they leave.
6) Hoi An is expensive anyway so you get what you pay for.
7) Give the place a paint and really scrub the bathrooms down, freshen the place up.
8) Overall it was ok, there are always room to improve on anything, we also need to be saying to any hotel if we are not happy, but do it in a way that keeps you calm and gets you somewhere.

The hotel wants to improve so start giving some good advice with a smile and things will improve slowly. If you have had things stolen then we need to take some responsibilty but also all hotels do as well with regard to the staff they employ and this is something that I have told them to consider. Its understanding each others culture and breaking down the invisable walls.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beccajstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minamiuonuma, Japan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Unlike other reviewers I didn't get anything taken from my room, but the receptionist tried to cheat me when I checked out. The room was filthy, the staff were awful and the place couldn't have been worse if they were deliberately trying. Without a doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I'd sooner sleep on the beach than go back to this dump.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve261973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#62 of 123 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
0.0 mi away
Thanh Binh II Hotel
Thanh Binh II Hotel
#116 of 123 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lucky House
Lucky House
#155 of 192 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Champa Hoi An Villas
Champa Hoi An Villas
#114 of 192 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gia Bao Backpackers
Gia Bao Backpackers
#107 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi Pho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi Pho Hotel

Property: Hoi Pho Hotel
Address: 627 Hai Ba Trung | Town centre, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hoi Pho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing