We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hoa,the great host at this resturant will be able to advise”

Lantern Town Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 752 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located right in the middle of Hoi An ancient town, Lantern Town offers authentic Vietnamese cuisine and a selective creative fusion dishes. Great ambience, welcoming staff and friendlly services are what we always try our best to bring to our customers. Wide range of choices for enjoying your meal and drinks such as Cozy indoor, Open courtyard, Upstair overlookng the river, Terrace or Chilled out bar. With wide selection of food cooked in traditional way of Vietnamese Hoianian, and a collection of signature cocktails especially the Happy Hours 2 for 1 from 3:00pm-7:00pm, Lantern Town is perfect place for dining in charming Hoi An.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hoa,the great host at this resturant will be able to advise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great food in a brilliant setting with staff that know the menu and are able to advise patrons on Vietnamese food.
They are able to comunicate in English making menu choices far less taxing.
The upstairs rea of tis resturt eeds advace booing and will e well worth doing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kingsley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanterntown, Owner at Lantern Town Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear writer,
Thank you for your constructive review.
Hoa wanted to send his big thanks and regards for your great comment on his services.
We hope to have you at Lantern Town again one day.
Regards
Khiem Vu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    306
    73
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
316 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Our only poor meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Shame this one. It all started very well with a charming manager explaining the menu and making sure we were settled with our 2 year old and baby. Then we ordered and waited. And waited and waited. Other tables got served and still none of us - including a very hungry two year old - had their food. We complained and they scuttled about but still nothing. When we saw the managers' friends get served we then kicked up a huge row and eventually that seemed to spur them to actually bring some food, well over an hour after we ordered.

The food itself was ok but nowhere near the standard of places like Morning Glory, Miss Ly or Ancient Faifo.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanterntown, Owner at Lantern Town Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear writer,
Thank you for sharing your experience dining at Lantern Town.
I remembered this case very well as I am the one who received the booking from your husband for that evening.
We have set up a beautiful table on the terrace for your family but unfortunately we could not move the trolley upstair so we arranged another table downstair in stead.
It took for a while before your order completed as the baby cried and the going to the bathroom, also your time for seeing the menu...
The order was completed at 20:00pm (as recorded in the software, camera system and in the captain order we still keeping) and your meal arrived at 20:20pm(starters for you and food for your baby). During the 20min, we served you drinks, wine and complimentary...
According to our concept, this period of time is accepted and it was totally not late at all.
Especially, we never let our guests sitting and waited for hour like you said in the review.
When you got angry and complained, we checked everything imediately to make sure you happy and even gave discount on your bill(even there was nothing wrong).
Regarding the manager's guests served first. They were actually our loyal guests for months and have become our friends. They always let us know what they wanted to eat before arrived so the food was well prepared in advance. There was no advantage of serving as you might think.
We are very sorry hearing this and we do hope this may help you understand better the case.
If you would like to give us any idea or your comment after this please feel free to drop us an email through: lanterntownhoian@gmail.com
Thank you for choosing us.
Regards
Khiem Vu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A bit run of the mill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

There is such a high standard and choice of restaurants in Hoi An that it can be difficult for places like this to stand out. Everything was OK apart from the service due to them having a huge tour party all ordering at the same time, but there was nothing special either about the food or restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanterntown, Owner at Lantern Town Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear writer,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Lantern Town.
It would have been great if you could say more about the following:
1. How did the group tour affects to your meal? Did your food or drinks arrived late? Did the staff pay attention to you properly? As any restaurant has group dining sometimes especially the ones you have visited in Hoi An
2. How was your food like in stead of saying "Everything was ok but nothing special"? Your comment was very general that it was hard to find out what you were unhappy with?
If everything was ok and the group tour did not affect to your meal, it would be unfair for us with your rating.
Thank you for your visit again
Khiem Vu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
“Excellent food, good service,... :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We love Hoi an and Lantern town restaurant. We ate here 2 times while staying in Hoi An and it was good each time.The prices were very reasonable and we probably had our best meal of our holiday here. Moreover, the staff were friendly and we had fun with the waitress who called Luyen in that evening. She helped us to know more about local foods and many special things on this restaurant...nice experiences

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanterntown, Owner at Lantern Town Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear writer,
It is great to hear that you had beautiful experience dining at Lantern Town. Your constructive comment is highly appreciated. Miss Luyen also wants to send you best regards.
We hope to see you again at Lantern Town again one day.
Regards
Khiem Vu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lanterns to go with good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Whether you are seating downstairs or upstairs the overall atmosphere is great and goes well with a menu filled with a wide choice of well prepared food. Drinks during 'happy hour' are good value especially the wine by the glass and beer. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable in explaining dishes and restaurant specials.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanterntown, Owner at Lantern Town Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear writer,
Thank you for sharing your great experience at Lantern Town. We are very proud of our own designed lanterns which are all handmade and handpainted by ourself. We are very glad to hear that you liked them.
Regards
Khiem Vu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lantern Town Restaurant also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Lantern Town Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing