We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vuon Xua (Old Garden) Cafe Restaurant”

Vuon Xua (Old Garden) Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 777 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Vuon Xua (Old Garden) Cafe Restaurant”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

During our meanderings in the streets of Hoi An my wife and I came upon the Vuon Xua Cafe (Old Garden Restaurant) tucked away in an alley, 33 Phan Chu Trinh off 76 Tran Phu.t.There are so many very good small ,clean and comfortable places serving good traditional food.. If you're lucky, there will be a lady standing at the entrance to the lane handing out menus who will direct you in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tho n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    59
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely set back, authentic vietnamese restaurant”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We wanted to get to a place recomended by lonely planet and found this place on the way. Before eating here we had a look at the place we wanted to go to. Here the guys where so pushy that we went back to the old garden and had a beautiful dinner in a nice surrounding with good service and lovely prepared food.

So don't only go for travel guides recommendations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmansch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Another couple on our hotel shuttle bus recommended the 'Old Garden' to us, so we took the time to find this restaurant down the alley and how glad we were that we didn't miss this hidden gem. You feel like you are being welcomed into their home as you sit in a lovely simple garden setting. The food cooked by the owner and her sister is just beautiful, tasty and authentic.
We invited the owners young daughter, Ming, to sit with us and she was a delight as she drew pictures and practised her english with our 2 teenage daughters.
Please leave a huge tip as the food and drinks are embarrassingly cheap! We ate at many of the riverside restaurants but please don't be afraid to visit the back alleys.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“best vegetable noodle dish i have had in vietnam”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

i was surprised when i was walking past looking for somewhere to have dinner when a staff member showed me this restaurant down a small alley way.
the decor is not flash, plastic chairs etc etc, but it is surrounded by a garden and vines and small lights around.
There were mostly vietnamese people here, only one other table of foreign tourists, and the place was full.
I had a vegetable stir fry and that was lovely, and i also had the vietnamese noodle dish with vegetables - as this is one of the vietnamese main foods (i think) so i had this same dish in a few other places to compare, this was one of the larger portions and one of the better tasting ones also.
As for pricing - i had one bottle of water, one stir fry veg, and one veg noodle dish for 95,000Dong.
I would have returned for dinner the next night but i had already booked a bus to leave the following day .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“quiet and delicious experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Me and my sister were in Hoi An on our short trip to Vietnam mid-May. The whole little town made an impression of too overtly touristy place. So we tried to walk along the quiter streets and alleys and stumbled upon this little restaurant by chance. It looked quiet, peaceful and not really 'hyped up to cater 'Westerners' tastes' and menu was quite big and very reasonably priced. So we ended up having late lunch in the place, trying several smaller dishes - and loved all of them! Shrimp in tamarind sause was yummy, banana flower salad was an eye-opener. We really liked our experience in this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xryLviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vuon Xua (Old Garden) Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Vuon Xua (Old Garden) Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing