We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never coming back.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Chau Hotel

My Chau Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
My Chau Hotel
Ranked #211 of 244 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never coming back.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were looking for a hotel with friends of ours. There was a full moon coming up, so everything was pretty packed. We came up to this hotel and asked for a room. They only had one double room. We asked specifically if there was any other room available, but there was not. We took the double room and our friends went further to search for a room somewhere else. Then two girls came in and asked for a room, and the girl behind the counter said: 'We have a small room. It's actually for one person, but you can have it.' Our jaws dropped. When we asked the girl about it, she said we were too big. Although we were the same size as the girls who just got the room. Then the next day, our friends came to pick us up and the women behind the counter was very rude, telling them that we were not staying there. Then they wouldn't lent us one bike for two persons, because again we were too big. And after the second night we had to pack our bags because we didn't tell them we were staying (we didn't tell them we were leaving either), and they had new guests coming. The air-conditioning broke down the second night and it took about half an hour of convincing before they would come up to look at it.

The hotel in itself is ok, nothing special, but the way we were treated, would make us never come back here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnjaH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    11
    13
    20
See reviews for
1
14
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Prices are quite expensive for the kind of service we get. People are otherwise sleeping or unfriendly. The rooms are hot as hell and the only way to cool it is to use a very noisy fan. The light didn't work. The wifi is not working properly. When i use their service to rent a motorbike they gave me a crapy one. The tyre went flat and they make me pay 60 000dong to replace it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you are looking for budget accomodation in Hoi An, do not think that this is the best option! We woke up to find our room swarming with ants, the staff were rude and unfriendly, even too our Vietnamese friend. The room was dull with no windows, smelly, but the shower was ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The room was bog standard, we paid way more than we had previously in vietnam and it really wasn't worth it! I don't usually review on bad experiences hence this being my first post, but I really wanted to express how terrible the people who work there are! One of the younger workers completely ripped us on our bus ticket paying triple what we should have for the second part of our journey from Hanoi to halong city. All in all don't go there even if the moped drivers take you there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjm92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
287 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Clean, cheap rooms about 10mins walk from the river. Facilities were good. You can hire bikes for $1 and ride to the beach and computers are free to use too. One of the staff members on reception (the really softly spoken one) was lovely and gave u lots of options and info about things to do around town. The other one however was quite rude and very lazy. She wasnt very helpful and when asked questions seemed like she was not interested in the slightest to help.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We paid 15$ for a night, and got ripped off completely. The room was dark, damp, smelly. The staff were rude and dismissive. The bathroom was OK but the water pretty much dripped out of the shower. At first we did not mind this hotel, just a plain room for backpackers. Until we woke up in the morning and the room was infested with ants, EVERYWHERE. They had gone from the bathroom ceiling, all the way to the floor into the room, all over the floor, and swarmed my boyfriends bag particularly. We checked out that day and moved to another hotel, paid the same price and the room was stunning. Dont stay here, theres much better around.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa, Vietnam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here in a fan room for $8/night. I would recommend paying for aircon though as we were too hot every day and night. At one point I tried to sneak down in the middle of the night to sneakily switch on the aircon but it didn't work as you need the remote! Worth a try! I did notice, in doing this, that the drawers and cupboards are all left unlocked.

The room and bathroom was adequate enough and we were fine with everything. The only problem was that we had an army of ants in the room that were going for the bin where our orange peel was.

We booked our onwards travel from here to Nha Trang on the sleeper bus and left our luggage in the back and everything was still there when we left it for the day. They also had a shower which we could use whilst waiting for the bus.

There is a restaurant opposite the entrance which seems to be used for funerals and they play really loud music throughout the morning and day.
Further down this street are a couple of good street food options; some really good and very cheap beef noodle soup for example.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoa My II Hotel
Hoa My II Hotel
#81 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuoc An Hotel
Phuoc An Hotel
#94 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thuy Duong 3 Hotel
Thuy Duong 3 Hotel
#64 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bach Dang Hoi An Hotel
Bach Dang Hoi An Hotel
#95 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#43 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Chau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Chau Hotel

Property: My Chau Hotel
Address: 4 Tran Cao Van Street | Quang Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing