We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good dispite my paranoia” 3 of 5 stars
Review of My Chau Hotel

My Chau Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
My Chau Hotel
Save
You added My Chau Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #167 of 190 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good dispite my paranoia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I don't usually check reviews but a friend informed me of some horrible ones just after I checked in. So I spent my time there a little paranoid I was going to have my room raided.
Luckily I did not. I did keep my key with me rather than returning it to the desk, and I declined housekeeping service while I was out.
So dispite my paranoia the place was rather pleasant and a decent price, $7/night for a single room. The girl at the desk was lovely and helped me book a tour to My Son temples, and my bus to Hue.
I did however have to ask them to come clean the toilet again as there were sticky pee spots on the seat when I arrived.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillTheCannuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    11
    13
    20
See reviews for
1
14
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

In a nut shell, dont stay at thís hotel. Stayed hểre for 2 nights an had 150 euro taken from our roôm. Another couple also had money taken from their rốom the same night as us. Coincidence?
After confronting them, they denied everything and accused ús òf lying and shouted at us in Vietnamese.

Thís hotel ís one big scam and it starts at the bús station when they try to lure you to their place.

Good location, rooms are average yet not clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Hoi An
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I am surprised to read some of the reviews on here. I stayed here June 2012. Room was clean, with tv, and air con (both had remotes). All for $10. Not a huge room but had small closet and desk. My room was on the first floor (so up the stairs). It was quiet. Door locked fine and seemed secure. I had computer, camera, and money in my room. They have a guy who sleeps by the front door of the hotel.

Located about 10minutes from river. They rent bicycles for $1 a day.

Staff seemed friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have stayed there 1 night.

About 10 mins from hotel to old market.
About 5 mins from hotel to Sinh tourist that is no.1 tour/transportation service in Vietnam.
SInh tourist can pick up you at the hotel.

Near to Sinh tourist, you can rent bicycle to go old market area. Actually you can walk to there.
And you can cycleing to Cua Dai beach about 4 km from old quarter.
Some local menus are waiting there in good atmosphere e.g. Cau Lao(yellow noodle with pork and soy bean sauce), My quang, Banh Can, Ngao nuong(grilled shellfish) etc.

Staffs are friendly in normal level.
Facilities are in good condition and suitable price.

You can find local foods in front of the hotel in the morning and lunch.
It's good price but you need to ask price first for food.

Hoi An people are always friendly. I love there and miss there.
It's hot city, chill and noisy in old market area.

Xin cam on,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Note P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Rooms were nice although needs some tlc in places, I strongly urge you to get an A/C room as fans are inadequate. Staff friendly and location is pretty good being on the outskirts of old town...

Room Tip: Get A/C... fan is useless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamindrfranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

-Run down rooms
-Bugs in the room
-Door does not lock
-Air conditioning makes you caugh
-Unfriendly staff
-Bad service
-Location ok 5 min to old town
11 USD for a double bad room without breakfast

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

PLEASE do yourself a favor and stay away from My Chau Hotel. Family members and I had our passports and hundreds of dollars stolen from a locked suitcase (most likely by hotel staff). The owner was entirely unhelpful and threatened us with further problems. After continual denial that the money/passports could have been stolen by a staff member, I mentioned that other people have had items stolen from the hotel and the response was "I know; I don't care." I've never had such a bad experience and it has sadly discolored our entire trip of Vietnam. We are now headed back to Hanoi to get new passports issued and have to cut our trip short due to loss of funds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g0d0t_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Thuy Duong 3 Hotel
Thuy Duong 3 Hotel
#71 of 123 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#65 of 123 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#30 of 123 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cozy Hoian Boutique Villas
3.5 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
3.0 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Chau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Chau Hotel

Property: My Chau Hotel
Address: 4 Tran Cao Van Street | Quang Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing