We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food to die for, Interesting village and gardens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tra Que Vegetable Village

Tra Que Vegetable Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Hoi An Countryside Tour by Sidecar
Ranked #12 of 116 things to do in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tra Que is a charming little village on the edge of Hoi An, the village is named after the sweet scented vegetables that spice up the everyday meals of the Pho Hoi people. Experience a day of living and working with the local people in Tra Que vegetable village, in which you will have a chance to discover the daily life of farmers.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food to die for, Interesting village and gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Eat at the WaterWheel. You will not regret it. The cold drinks and food are spectacular and the staff friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cedarlarkNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    107
    24
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hoi An Bicycle day trip to Cam Thanh fishing village & Tra Que Vegetable Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

What an amazing highlight of our holiday!!! With our tour guide,Vu, we bicycled to a lovely little fishing village, floating in tiny boats and catching purple crabs. (They went back in the water after catching!) Then continued our bike ride to a great vegetable & herb farm. We were then shown the gardens, made a new garden bed, were taught how to cook some pancakes, had a delightful lunch and topped it all off with a foot massage using the herbs from the farm. Then cycled back through other farms to our hotel
An experience of a lifetime organised through Indochina Pioneer. Thanks Lam & Vu!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kksquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A fun way to learn about farming and cooking with the locals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We didn't know what to expect when we entered the Tra Que vegetable village but we were certainly entertained and put to work in a most enjoyable way. Some of us cycled to the village from our nearby resort, others were taken by van and we received a warm welcome as well as typical farming outfits to wear while we took it in turn to dig and rake the soil and then plant some seeds. We watered the old fashioned way by hooking watering cans across our shoulders and despite our somewhat awkward techniques, we got the job done while having lots of laughs. After this, we were taught how to make Vietnamese pancakes and then each made their own using locally produced fresh vegetables, again employing a variety of clumsy methods but in the end, we enjoyed a delicious and quite satisfying morning tea before saying goodbye. If you are looking for a different, fun and quite interesting experience, try this, you won't regret it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cenza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“First class cooking class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our group of 6 absolutely loved everything about the Tre Que Cooking class with Helen. We rode a short distance to the Market where we learnt about various herbs and vegetables and collected fresh ingredients for our class. Then rode for 10 - 15 minutes to Tre Que Vegetable Village where we had a tour of the herb farm.
Helen started with a quick quiz regarding the herbs we had bought. She made it a fun experience.
We started with a cool drink and then began the first of out four dishes. the first dish was a variation of spring rolls called "three friends" which was delicious. This was followed by Green Papaya Salad which again was a wonderful meal. The next dish was Fish in banana leaves which was even better which is no small feat given how good the other dishes were. We finished with Vietnamese pancakes.
They also cater for vegetarians with a range of wonderful options.
Helen made our Cooking Class to be a memorable experience.
Our meal was one of the very best that we had in Vietnam.
Helen also arranged for us to ride a water buffalo.
Highly recommended.
If you don't wan't to do the Cooking class you can have lunch at the restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was the first time we try to do farmer works with farmers on their field. How friendly people they are! Good experiences to know how to plant vegetables.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hoang Cu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tra Que Vegetable Village also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Tra Que Vegetable Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing