We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misled”

White Lotus Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A not-for-profit NGO owned restaurant specialising in top quality, affordable Asian and International cuisine.
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Misled”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

When we entered the restaurant we carefully explained that we were vegetarians and eat no meat or shellfish. We were assured that they understood and could accommodate us. We ordered a few vegetarian dishes which were not very tasty and over spiced.
I asked the waitress what the pale little lumps were in the soup, thinking it was seasoning. She replied that it was pork. Naturally my husbanding I were extremely upset and felt very let down.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank carolacakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gefshaw, Owner at White Lotus Restaurant, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
This is the first time that I have seen fit to respond to a review, but it can not go unchallenged. First, the headline. It is not only defamatory and emotive, but completely inaccurate. When you first came to White Lotus Restaurant you actually spoke with the undersigned, mainly about seafood. You did explain that your vegetarian dietary habit was faith based and could include certain seafoods. Remembering that you are in a foreign country and dealing with people whose first language is not English that is bound to cause confusion where, in effect a part vegetarian diet may not be understood. We have a large vegetarian menu which has not created any customer problems in the past. You ordered 4 dishes, VEGETARIAN NOODLE SOUP, VEGETABLES WITH CASHEW NUTS, TOFU CHINESE STYLE and STEWED FISH IN CLAYPOT. You certainly made it clear on your arrival that you were vegetarian. The fact that you then proceeded to order two strictly non vegetarian dishes absolutely confused the staff, who until then understood your diet as being vegetarian. The choices you made were entirely your own, unaided by any White Lotus staff. The "soup" that you said contained pork was, in fact, the TOFU. The VEGETARIAN NOODLE SOUP does not contain pork. TOFU and STEWED FISH IN CLAYPOT are clearly not vegetarian dishes and had you asked, you would have been told so.
You have not been misled, but made choices inconsistent with your dietary regime.

Geoff Shaw
Director,
PROJECT INDOCHINA
(NGO and parent company of White Lotus Restaurant and White Lotus Bistro)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    151
    45
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Superb food, charming service and......”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stumbled on this excellent restaurant situated between Hoi Ann's markets and the Life Resort Hotel.
The sevice was exceptionally pleasant and charming in a country where good service is the norm. We opted for the White Lotus Seafood Platter for two, which was a spectacular presentation of varied freshly cooked, delicious seafood, cooked to perfection.

As a bonus, the retaurant is part of Project Indochina, a very effective voluntary charity which is doing excellent things for the really poor of Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos.
Because of our good experience, and their worthwhile efforts, we have sent a donation on our return to the UK. We would urge others to add their support.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“White Lotus - Blown Away”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Such a good cause, incredible staff, impeccable food! This was an incredible experience from start to finish! Missed the cooking classes but from the food would highly recommend! Try the house specialties, including the Hoi An Spring Roll and the White Lotus tea!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempsey, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Food and service was great. Friendly staff. Good selection on the menu. Reasonably priced. Would recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, great service”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hadn't read about this restaurant on Trip Adviser but stumbled across it as it is directly across from our hotel. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We enjoyed reading about the good cause supported by the restaurant. All things combined, we will go back before we leave.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madnessandpetals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Lotus Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to White Lotus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing