We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salt and Pepper Squid Surprise !!!”

White Sail Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #194 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Salt and Pepper Squid Surprise !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We sat down and service was slow. We ordered drinks and a salt and pepper squid. This was our "entrée test", if it failed, we'd move on to somewhere else for dinner. It took so long to come out we'd already resigned ourselves to going elsewhere..... however when it finally arrived(after waitress apologising profusely) it was delicious. It wasn't battered, it was light and crispy though, and tossed with lemongrass, fresh green peppercorn, chilli...we wiped the plate clean the flavour was so good. After this, we decided to stay...hoping that this wasn't just one fluke good dish.. then we had the eggplant with tamarind...soooo smokey and tasty, yum..and the caramelised prawns in claypot which were great also, particularly the sauce. The prices were cheap by tourists standard. One of our better meals in Hoi an. Would recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pinktori71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    105
    17
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best Restaurant in Hoi An”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have been to Hoi An twice now (once in 2005, and once in July 2013).

We have eaten at countless restaurants. I was so disappointed I did not find this restaurant earlier!!!!! It was by far the best meal I have ever experienced in all of Vietnam.

We had crispy pancakes, coriander prawns, stuffed squid, fresh spring rolls - the tastiest and freshest food we have ever had. The price was excellent - we ate with ourselves and our 2 children and had beers and cocktails and it was less than $30 AUD!!!!!

Highly recommend, the service and staff are wonderful. Want to be back there now!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I dined at White Sail Cafe last night. We had been there for dinner two years ago and were suitably impressed by the food. We were not disappointed two years on. It is nothing special as far as decor goes. Rustic may be a good term to describe he setting but the food is a wonderful surprise. We ate the wontons, a fabulous steamed fish with chili and lemongrass and a vegetable clay pot. All of the meals were delicious. We watched a group of 8 arrive in the restaurant, sit down,looked around and then they left. Several of the existing diners looked at each other and said "They will regret the decision to leave. They will be hard pressed to find food like his at the price White Sail offers." I would highly recommend a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very very poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We came here after reading all the good reviews on ta. After being seated we ordered a glass of wine ( which took several times to get right due to the staffs english being very very poor). Then an hour went past and we had not received our food. We noticed that two other tables were complaining about how long it took for their foodmto arrive. One table ended up leaving and telling them not to worry about the rest. The other table told them they had 5 mins otherwise they would leave too. Finally our entree came and i must admit it was delicious. Then my partners meal came but mine was still nowhere to be seen. She had her meal and finished it when i didnt even receive mine. After nearly 1.5 hours i received my food. The mains were ok. Nothing special. I could see the chef in the kitchen sweating as if she were in a sauna and wiping the sweat of her head. Quite gross. Definitely wont be going back. A lot better places here in hoi an.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MiLi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

As a family of four we feasted for $34. Sublime food, fresh, authentic and wonderful textures.
Must dishes- white rose dumplings. Pork and shrimp spring rolls. Stuffed squid, also shrimp and lemongrass in claypot! Stunning. Passionfruit mojito, great too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevensandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Sail Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to White Sail Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing