We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The chef is fantastic....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sail Cafe (Canh Buom Trang)

White Sail Cafe (Canh Buom Trang)
Ranked #186 of 732 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
312 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The chef is fantastic....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

.....I suppose, because the food was great. Local specialities really tastefully cooked and nicely presented at a superb reasonable local price.
We were alone in this place when we had dinner, which was a bit strange but ok. The service lady makes the minus. She was not understanding English and she seemed quite bored. We missed some friendliness here. Food and service were not matching in quality.
To the owner....please rethink your music strategy. You are not a piano bar.... A little more happiness in the music can change a lot.

But clearly, the food is a fantastic pick!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    105
    17
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The most delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Of all the restaurants that proved to be the optimum. Very varied menu, read it for 10 minutes. Worth a try set that bag of food from the region - just a little bit. We would go there more often! And there is very clean toilet, compared to other restaurants, but this is important!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Polinnkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful food at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place has absolutely delicious seafood and local cuisine at a great price. You MUST try the salt and pepper squid and you will never look back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Recommended by someone we met in Hoi An and it really was as good as they said. Very efficient and friendly service as you would expect in Hoi An, however the food was very very good from beginning to end - we had 5 dishes which were all excellent. We had a number of drinks with the meal and couldn't believe the value when the bill came. We have eaten all around Vietnam and I couldn't recommend this restaurant highly enough. We will go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The service was efficient and friendly and the food was fresh and tasty, my wife and I really enjoyed the meal we had there tonight. I had the salt and pepper squid and my wife the chicken and cashews as well as morning glory with garlic. If we were not leaving tomorrow we would dine there tomorrow. Good thing as well no MSG, had a massive headache night before after dinning at up market restaurant, believe due to MSG as tablets would not lift it either would nights sleep. Not often do I give restaurant 5 stars but the food was worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Sail Cafe (Canh Buom Trang) also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to White Sail Cafe (Canh Buom Trang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing