We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved cooking with Van!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Bamboo Cooking School & Cafe

Green Bamboo Cooking School & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 75 Food & Drink in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved cooking with Van!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Absolutely loved this cooking class - starting out at the markets was great as Van was patient and explained all the ingredients as well as some of the street food. We then cooked and ate away the day in Van's lovely home. Van was clam, organised and absolutely lovely despite us making over ten different dishes - all of which were incredibly yummy! We loved the pacing and the hands on approach - will definitely be making several of these dishes at home! Lovely goodie bag and recipe booklet that we got at the end! Overall, this was an absolute pleasure and would highly recommend to anyone going to Hoi An and enjoys food!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollyholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,045
    24
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Must do in Hoi An”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Van is a sweet and wonderful teacher who speaks very good English. Her excitement to share Vietnamese style cooking is obvious. There were 8 in our class and she did a great job of fostering a positive team vibe. Visiting the markets was a highlight as she introduced us to many delicious fruits, letting us taste so many items. Her kitchen is beautiful, bright, and airy...a perfect place to cook. We had a blast learning all the different dishes and techniques. In the end we had a feast of more than enough food. At the end of the meal we had a special desert and she sent us home with a custom goodie bag based on our class; what a wonderful surprise.

We have had many cooking classes, in multiple countries, but this was by far the best experience yet.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pgswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Day In Every Aspect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

What a honour it was to meet the quietly spoken Van and do her cooking class. The tour starts with a walk around the markets introducing us to new foods and tools and explaining the Hoi An way. After a drink we were taken to her amazing home and the fun began. We all got to choose the dish we wanted to cook prior to the class and after shopping at the market to buy our fresh ingredients we set about cooking our special dish to share with the other cooks.
Van's classes are small and very hands on . If a new technique is needed we all watch the demonstration. At the end we all sit at a beautifully set table and share our meal and conversation and van freely answered any questions we have. Everything is included in the $30 fee including pick up and drop off to your hotel. It was a great day. I learnt lots, prepared and tasted wonderful food and shared the day with some lovely people. The bonus - I didn't have to do any washing up.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a day in Hoi An”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My friend and I did this cooking class while in Hoi An and it was definitely a highlight. I liked that the class was limited to 8 people -- enough to try a variety of dishes but no so many that it's overwhelming for the teacher/students. The trip to the market is a fun way to start and we learned a lot about the fruits and vegetables that we'd seen but were too cautious to try on our own. Very educational!

The cooking portion is also great -- you take the lead on your own dish but since some dishes are more complex than others, you end up having time to observe what your classmates are doing too. I liked that you have to do all the prep yourself because that's the best way to learn -- I'm no longer afraid of shrimp heads looking back at me!

I thought Van was very well organized, super friendly and professional. She's obviously refined her class based on her experience and she seems to have a good system down at this point. She had two helpers who were there to clear out dishes and tools and it kept the cooking moving along at a good pace.

The dishes all came out great and you leave with a cookbook of recipes, and a few other tools as gifts. Well worth the money and you will enjoy it! I look forward to trying some of the recipes now that I'm back home.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Trip Highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family of 5 (including 3 young adults, age 17, 21 and 22) absolutely loved Van and her "class". From our morning at the market to our 9 course meal, Van created an interesting, fun, educational and delicious experience, with lots of laughter along the way.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HMStraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Bamboo Cooking School & Cafe also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Green Bamboo Cooking School & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing