We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Lifestart Foundation Workshop
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.00*
and up
Hoi An Lantern Making Class with Lifestart Foundation
More Info
$18.00*
and up
The Lifestart Foundation Traditional Vietnamese Painting Class in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The non-profit Lifestart Foundation Workshop is a not for profit charity offering visitors to Hoi An art and craft classes as well as the opportunity to find out more about the charity. Join us for a special half-day experience to learn more about the Lifestart Foundation and to enjoy our traditional art classes! Your half day includes participation in both classes, a brief video about our workshop and an opportunity for one-on-one dialogue with our members. All proceeds fund Lifestart Foundation philanthropic projects in Vietnam. Traditional Painting Class - Have lots of fun in our traditional painting classes offered by our Lifestart Foundation recipient and local artist, Sinh Trong. Lantern Making Class - Learn how to make your own miniature Hoi An lantern taught by our workshop staff. Take your unique lantern home as a memory of your time spent at the Lifestart Foundation. Free Daily Vietnamese Language Class - Feel less like a tourist, and more like a local! Every Morning & Afternoon FREE & FUN 1/2 Hour Lesson!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This group of people are very inspirational. Loved the art and lantern making class and that is come from someone with two left thumbs!!!! No pressure. the work they is tremendous. We will be helping them out in the future and i look forward to a great relationship. Thanks.

Thank tonimbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifestartFoundation, Founder at Lifestart Foundation Workshop, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

So glad you enjoyed the tour tonimbuk! We look forward to a great relationship as well and very much appreciate your ongoing support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 327 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were attracted to this shop front by the lovely Australian woman handing out brochures about the foundation, on the Hoi An street in front of the shop.

Inside was a lovely collection of hand made craft together with a small group of Vietnamese women knitting scarves. The Australian woman was a volunteer who, together with her husband had funded their three month trip to Hoi An to volunteer their time and services to this organisation. She works in the shop and her husband was lending ITC expertise to the business. What an impressive person she was! From Brisbane.

The products are gorgeous and knowing that 100% of the profit from the purchase of them are going to the workshop members is more than enough to encourage you to buy up big. The foundation offers disabled people, and those from difficult backgrounds, the opportunity to earn a sustainable income.

We didn't have time to do the tour but I imagine it would be a very worthwhile experience. At the very least, seek out the shop if you find yourself shopping in Hoi An.

Thank TMPAFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifestartFoundation, Founder at Lifestart Foundation Workshop, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We’re big fans of Ish and Andrew too TMPAFT! Thanks for taking the time to visit our shop… we hope you’ll come back to visit us one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

highly recommend you stop by here to purchase a few pieces. the quality is high, the price is cheap and you will be helping locals in need. I like the touch that the items you purchase come with a photo card briefly describing the circumstances of the maker. we purchased coasters made from recycled magazines (which we are loving in our homes now), a pretty light cover for a little girl (who is loving it in her room which is now a pretty shade of red/pink), bags, gorgeous cards and more.

Thank mish6974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifestartFoundation, Founder at Lifestart Foundation Workshop, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We’re so glad you’re enjoying the new additions to your home misch6974. Our makers send their thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We took our girls (aged 7 & 5) here to make lanterns on advice from a friend. It was a great experience for the kids & we got to meet one of the ladies that the foundation has helped. Highly recommend.

Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing morning with Lifestart. Loved our painting class with Sinh- such an inspiring young man! He was an excellent teacher, demonstrating clearly, giving words of praise and encouragement and advising where necessary. We both produced a super greeting card to be proud of. Back across the river, in the lifestart workshop, we made lanterns with a lovely lady (so sorry I can't remember her name) who was again patient and encouraging. The class size was perfect (4 for painting, just us two for lanterns).
We got so much out of the experience but it was even more satisfying to know that our money went towards providing a chance at life for the underprivileged and differently abled Vietnamese. It was great to meet some of the ladies who produce handcrafted products for the shop and learn about where our money would go. If you can't do the workshop, at least visit the shop for a one-off beautifully crafted souvenir. However, I'd agree with most of TripAdvisor that the workshop is definitely the best activity in Hoi An. So go for it!

Thank jo_and_luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lifestart Foundation Workshop also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Lifestart Foundation Workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing