We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for 1 night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Minh Quang Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Minh Quang Hotel
Save
You added Minh Quang Hotel to your Saves list
551 Hai Ba Trung St., Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 163 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Ok for 1 night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in hoi an and found it to be a town built for tourists to shop.... that's not for us. We would have left immediately but we'd just got of a long night train and wanted to rest. After looking around town for a cheap room and failing we were on our way to the bus station when the lovely lady at Minh called us over. Her rooms were just 210,000. The rooms are not going to impress too much but was a good size with tv, AC and hot water. The only reason I wouldn't stay here again is the really hard bed and I'm sure a large rock would be more comfortable than the pillow provided. If your not too fussed about the bed, this is a good friendly budget hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n1c8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

2 of my friends and I arrived in lovely Hoi An and were looking for a triple room in a hotel. We found a very nice one which was not available on the night, so the receptionist sent us to Minh Quang around the corner and asked us to come back the next day when she would have availabilities. She warned us that it was basic but that for one night it would be ok.
It was basic indeed, small, dark and really depressing looking. As we were tired and at $14 for a triple room close to the centre, we gave in and took the room.
Going back late in the evening, we noticed a lot of bed bugs on the beds and the floor. We asked to change room, but we were first told there were non available so we asked that they change the bed linen. They too, had bugs on them. We also saw that there were blood stains on the matresses and the pillows.
We insisted on gettting another room and they suddenly remembered there was one exactly the same just below ours.
The room had the same bugs on the floor, but a lot less on the beds, so after spraying some jungle spray around the beds, we slept fully clothes, on our towels and we just hoped they wouldn't climb on or get in our backpacks.
We were glad to go to the other hotel the next day which was great and for only $1 more.
Minh Quang is the only really bad hotel experience we have had touring Vietnam in 2 weeks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firsttimer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Although quite cheap at around $15 a night, I would not recommend staying in this hotel. The room had no windows or ventilation, leaving it feeling humid after you have a shower and also smelling terrificly like mould. We hated returning to the dirty room after a day out, and given that the curtain on the glass door was so thin, the room remained bright all night. We were also promptly awoken at 6am each morning by loud staff. Find a better place to stay and preferably in the old quarter.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mad k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I have to start with mentioning that the people are very friendly and that the location is not bad at all. I had a horrible room with no working shower, a hardly working TV and a flooding through the ceiling when it rained. Only after asking the staff several times to fix my shower, which they forgot and did not manage to, they were willing to give me another room which was empty anyway.

The staff is very helpfull to organise tours for you, but be ware that they add quite some money to the original price, making it more worthwile to do it yourself. What's also very annoying is that the guard/repair man goes to bed at 21.30-22.00 every night and sleeps at the reception. So the area will be very dark and closed and everytime you pass him he wakes up! By the way...this is also the place where the (bad working) computers are, the only souce of internet in the hotel (no WIFI!)

Once I checked, which I indicated a day in advance, it took them ages to calculate my bill, making me almost miss my bus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madelonvandenheuvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights after leaving a terrible hotel. They don't negotiate room prices but they are fair $12-14/night. The room itself is basic. It looks a little run down but it's a place to sleep. The bathroom is alright. The family running it is very kind. I would stay here again if on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetDee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Just few minutes walk outside the old town.
Basic rooms, clean and cheap.
very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stello74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#65 of 113 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuoc An Hotel
Phuoc An Hotel
#73 of 113 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pham Gia Boutique Homestay Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tan Phuong
Tan Phuong
#104 of 113 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almanity Hoi An
Almanity Hoi An
#10 of 113 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thanh Luan Homestay
Thanh Luan Homestay
#2 of 90 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minh Quang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minh Quang Hotel

Address: 551 Hai Ba Trung St., Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing