We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy old rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minh Quang Hotel

Minh Quang Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Minh Quang Hotel
Ranked #187 of 214 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moldy old rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Although quite cheap at around $15 a night, I would not recommend staying in this hotel. The room had no windows or ventilation, leaving it feeling humid after you have a shower and also smelling terrificly like mould. We hated returning to the dirty room after a day out, and given that the curtain on the glass door was so thin, the room remained bright all night. We were also promptly awoken at 6am each morning by loud staff. Find a better place to stay and preferably in the old quarter.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mad k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

I have to start with mentioning that the people are very friendly and that the location is not bad at all. I had a horrible room with no working shower, a hardly working TV and a flooding through the ceiling when it rained. Only after asking the staff several times to fix my shower, which they forgot and did not manage to, they were willing to give me another room which was empty anyway.

The staff is very helpfull to organise tours for you, but be ware that they add quite some money to the original price, making it more worthwile to do it yourself. What's also very annoying is that the guard/repair man goes to bed at 21.30-22.00 every night and sleeps at the reception. So the area will be very dark and closed and everytime you pass him he wakes up! By the way...this is also the place where the (bad working) computers are, the only souce of internet in the hotel (no WIFI!)

Once I checked, which I indicated a day in advance, it took them ages to calculate my bill, making me almost miss my bus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madelonvandenheuvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights after leaving a terrible hotel. They don't negotiate room prices but they are fair $12-14/night. The room itself is basic. It looks a little run down but it's a place to sleep. The bathroom is alright. The family running it is very kind. I would stay here again if on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetDee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

Just few minutes walk outside the old town.
Basic rooms, clean and cheap.
very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stello74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
3.7 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
3.0 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#3 of 135 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Villa
Hoi An Holiday Villa
#1 of 135 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minh Quang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minh Quang Hotel

Property: Minh Quang Hotel
Address: 551 Hai Ba Trung St., Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 214 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing