We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre was closed”

Traditional Theater
Ranked #63 of 128 things to do in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Theatre was closed”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were looking forward to this show but visited both the addresses in the guide and found no show. First place advertised nightly showing but directed us to the second address. This was closed up. Very disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sg1scribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and entertaining.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A delightful surprise to find this theatre, I enjoyed the performances of traditional dances and instruments that I haven't seen before anywhere else. The theatre is set in an old wooden building, giving it a great atmosphere and acoustics. The dancers and musicians all seemed very talented to my untrained eye. The performances are short and sweet so children should be able to sustain interest. Photography and video is allowed. You can buy a multi-ticket entry for the attractions in Hoi An old town, and that gets you entry to this attraction and others. Can't remember the cost exactly but I think around $6 USD pp.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fatsprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cultural insight”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our big group of 21 tourists were thrilled with the music, drama and traditional dancing and singing performed by these talented people in Hoi An.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bali2u0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Traditional Theater: OK for 30 minutes”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The usual planned "cultural" experience. Good music and costumes and earnest performer. It was crowded with large Westerners and Australians when we attended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cedar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese Theater”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is really worth visiting along with many of the other historic sites. The music was really interesting, quite different. Take a fan with you as its really hot in there!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Purpleotter777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traditional Theater also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Traditional Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing