We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyable and entertaining.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traditional Theater

Traditional Theater
Ranked #59 of 111 things to do in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and entertaining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A delightful surprise to find this theatre, I enjoyed the performances of traditional dances and instruments that I haven't seen before anywhere else. The theatre is set in an old wooden building, giving it a great atmosphere and acoustics. The dancers and musicians all seemed very talented to my untrained eye. The performances are short and sweet so children should be able to sustain interest. Photography and video is allowed. You can buy a multi-ticket entry for the attractions in Hoi An old town, and that gets you entry to this attraction and others. Can't remember the cost exactly but I think around $6 USD pp.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fatsprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    34
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cultural insight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our big group of 21 tourists were thrilled with the music, drama and traditional dancing and singing performed by these talented people in Hoi An.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bali2u0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Traditional Theater: OK for 30 minutes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The usual planned "cultural" experience. Good music and costumes and earnest performer. It was crowded with large Westerners and Australians when we attended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cedar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is really worth visiting along with many of the other historic sites. The music was really interesting, quite different. Take a fan with you as its really hot in there!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Purpleotter777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Horrifying”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I don't understand how this show could possibly have no 1 star ratings. First off, the carpet was still dirty with confetti from some show for before and that doesn't even compare to how horrible the dancers were. They were off-time, didn't synch their moves, unenthusiastic, and the dances were redundant. The costumes looked cheaply made and resembled halloween costumes you buy from the dollar store. The girls were beautiful and I felt sorry for the ridiculous outfits they had to wear. Too bad that the musicians didn't get to shine because they were very talented. The masks they were wearing were made from cardboard and when one of the girls tried to pull it off it off it got stuck in her hair. Another girl dropped her mask and the three girls laughed about it.

Go see the water puppet show in Hanoi, this seems to be a better example of traditional Vietnamese entertainment. Usually, I would not write such a horrible review but my friend and I thought we needed to shed the light on some truth about this show.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traditional Theater also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Traditional Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing