We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoi An, Vn -- Fantastic Cooking School”

Thuan Tinh Island - Cooking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Thuan Tinh Island is a small isolated island, around 3.5 km far from Hoi An Ancient Town, on Thu Bon River. Thuan Tinh Island is an eco-friendly island rich in tropical foliage making it a beautiful place to cook, relax and then enjoy the dishes you've created, Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour. We organize daily cooking classes at Thuan Tinh Island: pick-up at the hotels in Hoi An area. You will make your first stop at the market to purchase some fresh and locally grown herbs, before joining a river boat ride in 30 minutes to Thuan Tinh for a relaxing meander through what has been officially recognised as an ecological zone. To visit the local Village, we take a row boat ride through the water coconut trees. We then walk through the gardens to visit a local family and snack on grilled rice cakes and iced tea. From there, we head back to our open-air cooking class overlooking the water coconut trees and river. Our chefs will show you how to make Vietnamese food while you enjoy the cool breeze and peaceful setting. That is much more than simply a cooking class as a journey to discover the eco island that makes you satisfied.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hoi An, Vn -- Fantastic Cooking School”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour was absolutely Brilliant. The half day included buying fresh ingredients at the Hoi An market, a lengthy and very interesting river cruise to Thuan Tinh Island and their multi course class. The woman chef was warm, patient and full of good humor and our beautiful, excellent translator and tour guide, Mo, made sure we understood everything (her English is very good) and that we enjoyed the process. We never imagined any cooking school could be so much fun and such excellent value.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pellican601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    78
    13
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend a day in Hoi An”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We debated between the basic and deluxe classes, and went with the basic. We were concerned that there was too much tour, and not enough class, but we couldn't have been more wrong! The tour portion was really nice, and it was a great balance of the two. And the class portion was still quite extensive and satisfying.
The tour of the market, and buying the ingredients we'd use later was fun--definitely a different experience than just trying to navigate the market as a tourist. Then a pleasant, relaxing boat ride to the island, past some pretty sites, watching fisherman at work. The demonstration of making rice milk was fascinating. From there, you walk through the herb and vegetable gardens to the pavilion where the class is held.
There are clean bathroom facilities here. Speaking of clean, each cooking workstation area is provided with hand sanitizer, and the staff used them, and observed excellent hygiene while handling any foods.
The cooking techniques were all demonstrated clearly (and with humor) by the chef, and well described by our cheerful translator. We also received detailed recipes for each dish. Best of all, is that every person had their own workstation and ingredients, and could choose how much of each thing to add (it's easy to omit ingredients if you need to--just be firm, as otherwise they assume you forgot the instructions).
The only thing we'd change about the tour is the silly "magic table" which is supposed to rotate on its own--it's a big version of a Oujii board. We all went along with it because we didn't have an option, but it was awkward. We'd have much rather spent that time with someone showing us the herb gardens in more detail.
Once the class was done, we were driven back to our accommodation--about 10 minutes. We took the 8:30 class, which picked us up at our hotel at 8:15 and dropped us back around 2:30.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LANABUMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour: Deluxe class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were looking for a more professional and for max. 4 person cooking course rather than just easy cooking with lots of fun. We saw the Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour flyer in the hotel and also saw that, in addition to the group tour cooking class, they offer the Deluxe Class on An Bang Beach. There were only two of us and we were taught by Thai Kien who is a very experienced, knowledgeable and passionate chef. The cooking class included a market walk with Thai and Mo (his niece) to purchase all ingredients (we could tailor the class to our requirements). Then we stopped at Tra Que herb village to pick up necessary herbs. We cooked Banh xeo, Tom rang me (shrimps in tamarind), Ca nuong la chuoi (fish in banana leaf), fried spring rolls according to the original recipe, Nom Hoa Chuoi (banana flower salad) and Cua nhoi (stuffed crab). All of this was topped up with an amazing ocean view, loads of homemade passion fruit juice and beer (inclusive). We also had a walk on the beach. Thai – the chef, Mo and their family made us feel like at home. We would definitely recommend this class to anyone who is passionate about food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best cooking experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had been looking forward to our cooking class and we were definitely pleased and surprised at the level of professionalism demonstrated by the entire staff. It was my husband's birthday and a highlight of his day.
The translator was very informative while showing us around the market (loved the opportunity to know what all the different herbs were called and what they looked like) and the boat ride very relaxing to see Hoi An from the river.
The chef? well what a lovely character, fun and entertaining without speaking any English!!
The facilities are some of the best I saw in our trip from Hanoi to Phu Quoc. All in all a wonderful day, the cost for value is excellent and I would highly recommend this to anyone as it is a small enough class with a lot of hands on cooking, which is what we had hoped for.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakelley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fun experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Great fun!! So glad we did it! The market experience was mind boggling. We were glad to have someone help us navigate through the maze of vendors. Then onto the boat ride ....... Probably the least pleasurable part of the whole tour however it wasn't bad. The next leg was in a row boat...... It was beautiful. The lady who did the rowing was very sweet! We learned how to husk rice and make rice milk. Then the cooking began. "Tea" our cooking instructor was a sweetie. She showed us what we were making and how then she set us free at our own stations to make our own. We made 4 things and really enjoyed eating everything we made!! Great, great experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thuan Tinh Island - Cooking Tour also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Thuan Tinh Island - Cooking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing