We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An airconditioned oasis”
Review of Dingo Deli

Dingo Deli
Ranked #66 of 823 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: People come to Dingo Deli for the experience of stepping back home for a meal and familiar tastes and supplies whilst on their travels. Families also appreciate that we cater for them as we know that you just need some down time in a all familiar space with an adventure playground. Our dining room is air conditioned and non smoking however our covered outdoor area is smoking and super popular. We serve up western, hearty meals like back home.. We even cater for vegetarians and Gluten intolerance. We are also msg free. Try one of our make your own famous deli sandwiches, big delicious salads or aussie meat pies, chicken parma, eggs benedict, cheese and antipasti platters. Our Delicatessen is stocked with hams, salami's, cheeses, condiments, and lots of shelf food labels and snacks from back home. We serve Lavazza coffee by trained baristas. Icy cold beers, wine selection and some mixed drinks. Our bakery offers a selection of home style baked cakes, pastries, breads (including wholemeal, multigrain) Out back is the kids Adventure Playground equipped with fort, tower, trampoline, bridge, swings.... The playground is lit up at night for evening dinning. Come for a meal or to meet other travelers, families or local expats.
Lahti, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An airconditioned oasis”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

On our week long stay in Hoi an, we went to Dingo deli almost every day. Their aircon was cranked on high ( one of the few places to eat in Hoi an with aircon), their beer came cold in frosty glasses and the food was nice and homey. We thoroughly enjoyed their salads ( washed in purified water & served in huge portions), their pastries and pastas, that had a touch of homecooking to them. The service was always very attentive and extremely friendly ( almost to a point of making us, reserved scandinavians, embarrassed) & they also have bulletin boards with useful local information & valuable travelinfo. The deli had all sorts of imported foods at the prices you'd expect from imported foods. We recommend Dingo deli for a nice and homey, sweat free meal and a frosty beer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RuusaTuomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    906
    295
    72
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Having a break in Air Con with a great coffee or icy cold Beer.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A lovely place to have a break in air con with free Wifi or a book. Lavazza coffee and food is excellent, just like home (Melbourne Australia).Very friendly waitresses especially Hanh who was very cheerful. Ambience is great and even though we had no children with us it appears very child friendly. We enjoyed the break between beach and hotel on our bicycles.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gvantwout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb food, nice premises and a lovely owner”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

After weeks travelling we were craving a taste of home. We are from Ireland but Dingo Deli has an amazing menu. We had thte burritos and tortilla chips which were delicious. You can tell the kitchen is very clean as the food is clean and fresh. The potato wedges with cheese were so so good. We can't recommend this place enough.

Also hands down the nicest espresso I've had travelling Thailand and Vietnam. So good I ordered another one after having the first.

We met the owner, she is a lovely woman and we had some good craic chatting to her.

Check his place out. Well worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding watering hole, good food and friendly people.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I have frequented This establishment every year for the last three years. Excellent ambiance, nice music, air-conditioning, and very fresh food. Staff is very friendly. The only thing I find to be weird here is some of the customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2360225usmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiki, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Waitress was weird... or possibly over-friendly.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

While we were eating our meals - which were not bad - the waitress kept coming over and talking to us without us having called her. I'm from the UK and my wife is from Japan. The waitress kept speaking to my wife in Vietnamese and my wife repeatedly told her she was sorry, but she couldn't understand Vietnamese because she is Japanese. An easy mistake to make, perhaps, but she kept on asking her stuff in Vietnamese! The waitress wouldn't believe my wife's claims of nationality!!!!!! She then asked her in English questions such as, 'What's your name?' and when my wife answered with a Japanese name she appeared not to believe her! She ended up sitting with us for most of the meal and chatting away, which was strange. (Or perhaps over-friendly.)

When we had finished our meal, paid and left, we stood outside in the 'veranda' kind of area and had a smoke. We suddenly turned around and the waitress was staring at us from the window. Although there was a pane of glass between us, she was only a couple of feet away from us... standing silently and watching. It was weird.

Overall, it was a weird but interesting experience... and one we have laughed about ever since. I enjoyed my meal, but my wife didn't think much of the Fish 'n' Chips. But why eat here when there are so many great places to eat in town?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr.Ashwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dingo Deli also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Dingo Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing