We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding watering hole, good food and friendly people.”
Review of Dingo Deli

Dingo Deli
Ranked #60 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: People come to Dingo Deli for the experience of stepping back home for a meal and familiar tastes and supplies whilst on their travels. Families also appreciate that we cater for them as we know that you just need some down time in a all familiar space with an adventure playground. Our dining room is air conditioned and non smoking however our covered outdoor area is smoking and super popular. We serve up western, hearty meals like back home.. We even cater for vegetarians and Gluten intolerance. We are also msg free. Try one of our make your own famous deli sandwiches, big delicious salads or aussie meat pies, chicken parma, eggs benedict, cheese and antipasti platters. Our Delicatessen is stocked with hams, salami's, cheeses, condiments, and lots of shelf food labels and snacks from back home. We serve Lavazza coffee by trained baristas. Icy cold beers, wine selection and some mixed drinks. Our bakery offers a selection of home style baked cakes, pastries, breads (including wholemeal, multigrain) Out back is the kids Adventure Playground equipped with fort, tower, trampoline, bridge, swings.... The playground is lit up at night for evening dinning. Come for a meal or to meet other travelers, families or local expats.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding watering hole, good food and friendly people.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I have frequented This establishment every year for the last three years. Excellent ambiance, nice music, air-conditioning, and very fresh food. Staff is very friendly. The only thing I find to be weird here is some of the customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2360225usmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    884
    291
    68
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shiki, Japan
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Waitress was weird... or possibly over-friendly.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

While we were eating our meals - which were not bad - the waitress kept coming over and talking to us without us having called her. I'm from the UK and my wife is from Japan. The waitress kept speaking to my wife in Vietnamese and my wife repeatedly told her she was sorry, but she couldn't understand Vietnamese because she is Japanese. An easy mistake to make, perhaps, but she kept on asking her stuff in Vietnamese! The waitress wouldn't believe my wife's claims of nationality!!!!!! She then asked her in English questions such as, 'What's your name?' and when my wife answered with a Japanese name she appeared not to believe her! She ended up sitting with us for most of the meal and chatting away, which was strange. (Or perhaps over-friendly.)

When we had finished our meal, paid and left, we stood outside in the 'veranda' kind of area and had a smoke. We suddenly turned around and the waitress was staring at us from the window. Although there was a pane of glass between us, she was only a couple of feet away from us... standing silently and watching. It was weird.

Overall, it was a weird but interesting experience... and one we have laughed about ever since. I enjoyed my meal, but my wife didn't think much of the Fish 'n' Chips. But why eat here when there are so many great places to eat in town?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr.Ashwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A touch of home and a playground”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Dingo Deli was like an oasis for an Aussie traveller. Food and helpings were a nice "western" touch after 8 weeks in Vietnam .... and they had Vegemite!!

Also had some nice desserts which melted in the mouth.

Service wasn't as attentive as some other places and pricing is a little on the high side. However the addition of the playground, which our 2 children thoroughly enjoyed, made the visit one to remember.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raelene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little touch of home”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This place is a little touch a home. The playground is fantastic for kids and the food choice is exemplary. The deli has those few items that are missed by Australia's whilst travelling ie Vegemite, Canadian maple syrup and Cadbury chocolates.

They also offer an airport service that is cheaper than anywhere else, we used a private vehicle for an airport transfer and it was more than 1/2 cost of a hotel transfer at 290 vet dong (15 aud). If we had more time they also offer tours including a ride in the small cane baskets down the river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kmaccaaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An oasis”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We heard about Dingo Deli before we left Australia and as we'd chosen Hoi An to be our home for a while we thought it would be a good place to check out. We arrived in a taxi from Danang, hot, thirsty and hungry, suitcases dragging behind us. We fell through the door of the Dingo and were welcomed warmly and generously. We were totally looked after. Michele was exceptionally generous with her time and information as we sipped our drinks and ate a delicious lunch. With her guidance and advice we were able to find a home within a couple of days. It's become a regular place for us to stop in and have a coffee, a bite to eat, pick up some much craved for deli items and meet people. The warmth and welcome is always the same. Thanks Michele and Gordon for making our start here so fabulous. Beth M

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dingo Deli also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Dingo Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing