We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend if you're in Hoi An”

Red Dragon Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 806 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: FINE VIETNAMESE FOOD: creative and refined take on classic Vietnamese cuisine using fresh, local, seasonal ingredients where possible
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommend if you're in Hoi An”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We loved everyone part of our meal here in particular the roasted sea bass, it was amazing. The service was great, friendly but never pushy and overall good value. The restaurant itself is nice; clean, tidy and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonestar2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    114
    21
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We tried the Red Dragon restaurant because it was right next door to the Lotus Hotel where we were staying. The restaurant is nicely decorated and is very comfortable and the food is nice. The duck we tried was overcooked but better safe than sorry I suppose. The fish was nice. The best menu item we tried was the white rose, even my friend who doesn't like seafood loved these. The mango juice is to die for! Absolutely delicious!
The only thing that put us off was one night we dined there, a fellow walked in and spoke to the waiter, he then headed to our table to try sell his bracelets to us. Hence a very good rating versus an excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Hoi An”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

During our 2 week stay in Hoi An, we made a point of trying different restaurants each night. The three of us agreed that the Long (Red Dragon) was our favorite; so good in fact that we deviated from our original plan and revisited the "Dragon" on two other occasions. This family owned and operated restaurant offered good service and a varied menu at very reasonable prices. Typically our meals (for three) including drinks and tip cost about $25.
Various members of the family take on different roles. The Father typically greets you on arrival and generally waits on tables. Mom does some of the cooking but their son is the chef, and I mean "chef", not "cook". He has been well trained in the culinary arts and clearly has a mind, nose, and palette for the combining of foods and flavours to creat gourmet meals. No matter what we ordered, white rose, shrimp wontons, lemon grass chiicken fresh rolls, papaya and mango salad, oven roasted sea bass, or grilled chicken breast, it was all delicious and artistically presented.
My wife and I have various food allergies and were extremely appreciative of the time the chef took to talk with us about the ingredients of each entree or appetizer and make subtle but needed changes to his recipe to ensure we would not have an allegic reaction. The son speaks very good english, and being the chef, understands what goes into the preparation of each and every menu item.
You can't go wrong with the Long (Red Dragon). We give it our highest ranking of Hoi An restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“The Best Vietnamese Restaurant in Hoi An”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The restaurant has a wonderful Vietnamese atmosphere, complete with a very high ceiling, large aquarium and bar. The food was fresh, interesting, varied and all local produce. Service was also excellent and the chef (Ngwyen) had very good Enlgish and sense of humour. This is the best restaurant in Hoi An. This is why people have lunch and then return for dinner. He commenced the restaurant 6 years ago with 6 tables and he now has triple that amount of tables.
Ngwyen is the owner and chef. We had a private cooking lesson par excellence. Do not go to Hoi An and miss out on this restaurant.
David & Claire Queensland Australia

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireClaired4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

One of the best meals of our tour of Vietnam. Everything freshly cooked, and very tasty. The stir fried flat noodles with lemongrass chicken or shrimp is excellent. Great food a warm welcome and great value. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKjaysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Dragon Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Red Dragon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing