We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome”

Gioan Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "10 Years experience cooking" Welcome to GIOAN COOKERY SCHOOL. We have been in cooking for ten years and we guarantee that our experience can make you endore cooking. You can choose your own menu with four dishes together, also you manage your starting time and date and this course includes market trip, recipes book, cooking and eating during three hours. Ms. happy Hanh, Ms. Vina and Mr Ho who are our teachers, they will take you to the market which takes 30 minutes and show you how to cook Vietnamese's amazing food. They are friendly, funny, informative and sweet energetic. To be specific, you will become passionate about cooking after participating course. We look forward to serving you. Cheers!! "Happy cooking, happy chopping"
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile

As others have described, two crazy funny ladies! Cracking jokes the whole time, leisurely pace, clear instructions and delicious food. We will defiantly be able to make all of the recipes again when we get home. Give it a go!

Thank Furterbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gioan H, Owner at Gioan Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Dear Further Brown,
Thank you so much for reviewing us. It is very meaningful for our business. Besides, it is very lovely to meet you, and we are joyful that you had a great time in our school. We hope you experience your lovely trip in my country and see you again. Many thanks and take care.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pho"
in 93 reviews
"local market"
in 91 reviews
"cooking class"
in 344 reviews
"at home"
in 114 reviews
"lemongrass chicken"
in 30 reviews
"great fun"
in 82 reviews
"cooking school"
in 80 reviews
"fish in banana leaf"
in 27 reviews
"recipe book"
in 45 reviews
"spring rolls"
in 59 reviews
"country pancake"
in 13 reviews
"private lesson"
in 16 reviews
"market tour"
in 49 reviews
"ms hanh"
in 12 reviews
"choose your own"
in 11 reviews
"set menu"
in 18 reviews
"delicious food"
in 37 reviews
Filter

235 - 239 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I took a class at Gioan cooking school. Participants are allowed to choose 4 dishes they wish to learn. Unfortunately we needed to reschedule at the last minute to join another group but staff were very understanding and happy to accomodate us. Class lasts approximately 3 hours.

We spent some time at a local market where our guide gave us some helpful tips for choosing certain fruits and vegetables and was also happy to answer any questions we had about this. The cooking school provided bikes to get to the market.

Once we got back we started cooking. Our group cooked banh xeo (Vietnamese pancakes), lemongrass and chilli chicken, fish in banana leaf and pho. All of these dishes tasted great. Guides provided helpful hints for preparing these and were friendly and always smiling.

Although the cooking school offers classes for a minimum of 2 people, my boyfriend and I both really enjoyed cooking in a slightly bigger group. We cooked with another couple and 2 other travellers and getting a chance to speak with other travellers only improved our experience. I would recommend considering this if you are travelling in a couple/solo and could do with some other human interaction!

The school also has drinking water on hand, air con and the chance to buy soft drinks or beer to enjoy with your meals.

1  Thank Melrose90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gioan H, Manager at Gioan Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Dear customer,
We are very grateful for your responsible response. It is very much meaningful and motivative for us. We feel very joyful when you enjoyed cooking and had a great time at our school. Besides, it is very lovely to meet you and hope to see you again. Enjoy your trip in my country and recommend our cooking class for your friends, please. Thank you so much and take care.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

While in Hoi An with my partner, we decided to join a cooking lesson but were confused by the large selection. We Gioan was a little bit more out of the way than some, but they let you choose your own dishes from a vast selection, rather than having set dishes as with the other places we checked.
We initially only went in to enquire, but ended up staying and doing the course there and then. Hanh, our instructor, was the highlight for us and more fun than the actual cooking. On top of the lessons, we got beer and great conversation for our time there. Furthermore, we got invaluable information for the rest of our trip and Ms Hanh was even kind enough to help us book a driver for our next tour, and our hotel transfer, saving us a lot of money.

All in,highly recommended.

1  Thank jbhkhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gioan H, Manager at Gioan Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Dear customer,
We appreciate for your responsible review so much. It is very meaningful and motivative us a lots. Besides, we are delight to meet you and we had a great time at our school. Chef Happy Hanh wants to say thank you and have a great holiday in my country. We hope to see you again and thank you so much.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 10am (two adults and a 9 & 12 yr old)

Vina greeted us at the door with cool drinks and a great 4 hours of fun begun.

Firstly, we went to the Market on bikes to get the necessary ingredients for option 1, then back to the school to start the prep.

Vina made sure the kids were fully involved in the process and they had a lot of fun mashing/bashing the garlic and alike with the food mallet!

Vina did a great job of taking us thru the 'what, why's and how's ' of the menu as well as some great cooking tips. We all cooked, sang, laughed and then ate!

The food looked, smelt and tasted fantastic. We all had a fantastic time and the kids were very excited to be so involved in the whole process .

An absolutely awesome day and I thoroughly recommend this class.




1  Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gioan H, Manager at Gioan Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Dear Murray W,
Thank you so much for joining our cooking class. We are very happy when you and your family enjoyed our course and had a great time in our school. Besides, it is very pleasure to meet you and we appreciate for your responsible respond so far. It is impact on our business and very meaningful as well. Ms Vina wants to say hello to your cute children and she hopes to see them again. We hope you and your family have a great holiday my my country and take care. Thanks a lot.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2017

My husband and I absolutely loved our private, vegetarian cooking class at Gioan. Vina took us to the local market for produce and Hahn instructed us to make delicious, fresh dishes. The kitchen is spacious, clean and a short walk or taxi from old town. Both ladies were spunky and light hearted, making the experience even better. We even hired Hahn and her uncle to take us to the My Son Ruins the next day.

1  Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gioan H, Manager at Gioan Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Dear Krista,
Thank you so much for joining our cooking class. It is very lovely to meet you and we are very grateful when you enjoyed cooking in our class. Besides, we appreciate so much for your responsible review, which is very motivate, helps us to operate and manage better. We hope to see you again and enjoy your time in my country. Thank you and take care.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gioan Cooking Class also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Gioan Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing