We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant night”

Gioan Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "10 Years experience cooking" Welcome to GIOAN COOKERY SCHOOL. We have been in cooking for ten years and we guarantee that our experience can make you endore cooking. You can choose your own menu with four dishes together, also you manage your starting time and date and this course includes market trip, recipes book, cooking and eating during three hours. Ms. happy Hanh, Ms. Vina and Mr Ho who are our teachers, they will take you to the market which takes 30 minutes and show you how to cook Vietnamese's amazing food. They are friendly, funny, informative and sweet energetic. To be specific, you will become passionate about cooking after participating course. We look forward to serving you. Cheers!! "Happy cooking, happy chopping"
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant night”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We did this last night and it was brilliant.
Loads of food, entertaining and informative.
There were four of us on the course and we cooked whilst having a few beers.
Host vin was fab.
Don't look around just book this

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cl0dagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    71
    16
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gippsland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a great experience!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a great time doing a cooking class with Le Anh (please excuse if I got her name wrong). She was vibrant and funny and very skilled in guiding us through cooking a 5 course Vietnamese meal that we got to eat at the end. She took our photo throughout with our camera and kept us laughing with her cute little songs and kidding around with me and my husband. Was a great day and we took home some extra trinkets, cookbooks and amazing memories away with us. I would advise any one looking to do a cooking class in Hoi An to pop over to Gioan Cooking Class. There is an option to shop for your ingredients at the local market prior to the class but on our day we began at 11am and the day was already hot, hot, hot! We spoke to the couple who had cooked previously to us and they said that the market visit was well worth it if you could do it early when it was cooler. Loved this experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wishtravelwasmyjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hanh is the bomb!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

What an awesome night. Hanh is the most funniest person, very well suited to this position. She entertained us the entire night with all her singing and engaged each and every one of us. Thank you so much for fulfilling my Vietnamese cooking experience :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun thing to do in Hoi An”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

On a rainy day in Hoi An my girlfriend and I decided to do a cooking class. We made Pho, fresh spring rolls and lemongrass chicken and it was probably the best Vietnamese food we ate during our stay in Vietnam.
Cooking with Miss Vina was a lot of fun and she definitely kept us entertained during the 1-2 hours we were cooking. Before you start cooking you go to the market and buy some (though not all) of the ingredients for your meal. The kid that walked around with us on the market was also pretty nice and knowledgeable.
My only criticism is that at 30USD per person (if I remember correctly), the price is a little steep.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank felix_win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A fabulous fun and informative class”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My son and I had a private cooking class organized on the spur of the moment. I rang the school and 2 hours later we were picked up from our hotel to attend the class at our chosen time. We then rode bicycles to tour and shop at the local market - really out of the way meaning we were the only tourists there - awesome! Ho entertained us with his exuberant personality, showing us unusual things and advising us on how to choose the freshest produce. We then headed back to cook our 4 chosen dishes. We cooked crispy pancakes, spring rolls, pho and lemongrass and chilli chicken. They were all easy and enjoyable to cook. Vina, our teacher, was sweet, engaging and hilarious, with little songs to accompany our antics along the way. We had so much food to eat and it was all soooo delicious! We then had the opportunity to buy reasonably priced items such as an apron $6, a super sharp knife $6 and the cooking chopsticks @ 2 pairs for $1. This was an outstanding personalised experience not to be missed in the gorgeous Hoi An.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emmyjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gioan Cooking Class also viewed

 

Been to Gioan Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing