We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience with enthusiastic host”

Gioan Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "10 Years experience cooking" Welcome to GIOAN COOKERY SCHOOL. We have been in cooking for ten years and we guarantee that our experience can make you endore cooking. You can choose your own menu with four dishes together, also you manage your starting time and date and this course includes market trip, recipes book, cooking and eating during three hours. Ms. happy Hanh, Ms. Vina and Mr Ho who are our teachers, they will take you to the market which takes 30 minutes and show you how to cook Vietnamese's amazing food. They are friendly, funny, informative and sweet energetic. To be specific, you will become passionate about cooking after participating course. We look forward to serving you. Cheers!! "Happy cooking, happy chopping"
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great experience with enthusiastic host”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My friends and I did a cooking class with a small group of 6. Altogether we prepared 5 dishes including vietnamese pho, fish grilled in banana leaves, chilli pork in a clay pot, pan fried calamari and banh xeo.

Our teacher hanh went at a great pace, spoke good english, and was very friendly a we were generally allowed to do most of the cooking. The food turned out great, there were drinks available for people to sip on during the class and there was no pressure to tip. We also enjoyed the opportunity to potter around the fresh produce market beforehand, which is standard with cooking classes.

How much of the cooking you will be able to do is mostly determined by the dishes you choose. Banh xeo, for example, can be made almost completely by the participants.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank the_novine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    71
    16
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss out!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Best things about this cooking school was the small group and friendly chefs who had a great sense of humour. if you are looking for a flexible, worthwhile and inexpensive option where you can pick your own menu then this is the place for you! Hot boy and I had a great time and it is well worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gioan cooking class with market tour”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

So many cooking classes in Hoi An - any decent restaurant has one.

Can't speak for the others but this one I'd highly recommend. Small group sizes (1 cook to 3 people) along with a market tour beforehand to learn about the Vietnamese food and buy the ingredients.

Decided to go with this one, as it was a bit cheaper than the others, but mainly because you got to choose what you wanted to cook, out of about 20 possible options.

Really friendly and funny cooks. Get to eat whatever you create. 5 stars

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank luke l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a fantastic time at the cooking class. The night entailed the cooking (mostly preparation) of the meals, and lots of laughs. The group (12) all took part in the cooking, and each and every one of us left agreeing that it was a highlight of Hoi An.

We cooked (and prepared) 5 dishes: Sweet and Sour Chicken Soup, Fried Spring Rolls, Green Papaya Salad, Fish in Banana Leaf and Aubergine in Clay-Pot. 2 of our group members are vegetarian, and this was easily accommodated. The food was amazing, and so fresh. Our host explained alternatives to ingredients, should something not be available which was handy. We were also able to keep our cook books at the end of the night.

The whole night was around 2.5 hours, and did not feel rushed, or pressured. It was a fantastic night and I highly recommend taking part if you have: a good sense of humour, a love for Vietnamese food and spare time whilst in Hoi An.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eljay24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interactive eating”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Our visit to Hoi An has been dominated by eating and getting clothes made. We wanted to take a cooking class for something to do and based on the other reviews we went with Gioan and we were not disappointed. It was just the two of us to one teacher so we could ask questions etc. But I wouldn't have minded if it was more hands on...as in we cut the meat and everything as well. It wasn't bad though, we got to marinate the ingredients and do some of the cooking. Best part was eating it all. We also got the recipes and instructions for the dishes we cooked to take home.

Hanh is super friendly and thorough with her instructions. We also got picked up from our hotel...which was across the bridge. We didn't realise it was that close, sorry guys!

Good class for beginners or first time attempt at vietnamese.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hai_Eats_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gioan Cooking Class also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Gioan Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing