We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to learn something and be entertained”

Gioan Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "10 Years experience cooking" Welcome to GIOAN COOKERY SCHOOL. We have been in cooking for ten years and we guarantee that our experience can make you endore cooking. You can choose your own menu with four dishes together, also you manage your starting time and date and this course includes market trip, recipes book, cooking and eating during three hours. Ms. happy Hanh, Ms. Vina and Mr Ho who are our teachers, they will take you to the market which takes 30 minutes and show you how to cook Vietnamese's amazing food. They are friendly, funny, informative and sweet energetic. To be specific, you will become passionate about cooking after participating course. We look forward to serving you. Cheers!! "Happy cooking, happy chopping"
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great way to learn something and be entertained”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The three of us (Husband, Wife, 30is Son) had a great time with Miss Hanh, our host and teacher. Food was great and Miss Hanh did a great job of entertaining us. One of best values in Hoi An.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank t518n47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    69
    16
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great family night out”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Afte reading recommendations on trip advisor my family of six including my two sons and my parents) decided to spend the night cooking and eating at Gioan. We were there for about 2 and a half hours , eating each of the 4 courses after we had finished. Not only was the food delicious we were entertained by Han our wonderful host. My 11 year old son commented that he enjoyed it as much as jet skiing!!! Cant wait to try some of the recipes!!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank kaz24Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fun cookery - wrong address above though”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Found at 94B Bach Dang Street, not 98, this is a lovely little cookery school. Good for those who want a quick course and not devote the whole day to it. They are flexible with what you want to do and the teachers make the sessions fast-paced but fun ("Hello beansprout! Hello fish sauce!). You get a recipe book to take away with you and we've already tried some of the meals out back at home. Some may not enjoy singing as they cook but somehow you get drawn into it by the end!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank JanenClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed April 15, 2011

My husband and I had a cooking class with Miss Hanh this morning. We were promptly picked up at our hotel, visited local markets as she purchased goods and explained how to choose items (beware, she will test you on this later).

Miss Hanh is a character, so happy, so organised and it was the best morning. We prepared and cooked 5 dished - spring rolls, sweet and sour chicken and corn soup, eggplant in claypot, fish in banana leaves (chicken for me), papaya salad.

All of the food was glorious and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank suedev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good cooking skills, good fun, short time, no drinks”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

If you look for a professional course, do not go there. If you want to learn basic tecniques of the vietnamise cuisine, you are in the right place.
We did a 4 course menu at 16$ per person. We had fun.
However, I have a BUT. When we came in to start the course, one of the staff brought us the menu and asked us if we wanted something to drink, but when I saw the prices I said NO WAY. All drinks were overpriced. If you can take a bottle of water with you, do it. Anyway, the cooking class was good, learning new things.
And do not expect a 2 hour course as announced. Our 4 course menu lasted 1 hour.
But good taste and fun.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank AroundTheWorldBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gioan Cooking Class also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Gioan Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing