We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10/10”

Sao Mai morning star
Ranked #135 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

All of the traditional Hoi An specialties are must haves! At $2-3 a dish, you can very much afford to be adventurous and try any dish on the menu! Personal favourites for our family included the Shrimp & Pork pancake, Eggplant in clay pot, Fish in Banana leaf, chicken rice & fried wontons.
Sao Mai are famous for their amazing Mojitos! Be sure to treat yourself to a few of these.
Amazing location, right on the river side. The staff at Sao Mai made every visit there fun and enjoyable, their hospitality was excellent!! We went to other Vietnamese restaurants around Hoi An, but NO WHERE compares to the delicious and cheap food we had at Sao Mai.
Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garabedian_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    24
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK/Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Cold fresh beer and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Just had a lovely evening in this restaurant overlooking the ferry landing point. We arrived just before dusk and enjoyed a couple of fresh beers. Very cold and very delicious. The people watching was lovely and we shared many smiles with passers by. When our tummies were tempted by the wonderful smells wafting from the kitchen at the back of the restaurant we ordered the white roses, prawns with garlic and ginger and pork with mushrooms.
The delicate white roses which you can get in virtually any restaurant in Hoi An were served up hot and delicately seasoned with crisp fried garlic. The prawns and accompanying veg were perfectly cooked. Tender prawns and crisp veg. The garlic and ginger enhanced the prawns rather than overpowering them. The pork was thinly sliced, very tender and the slightly sweet sauce had generous amounts of mushroom. The portions of steamed rice were less than generous but perfectly cooked. The service was impeccable. Attentive without being overbearing.
Overall cleanliness was spot on including the toilet which was well supplied with paper and soap.
A definite five star meal. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavePatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food, serive & location amazing...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Like Amy F - this was our first day in Hoi An - and we literally stopped off at the Morning Star as we were sick of walking. We are so glad that we did! It is in a fantastic location to sit by the river and people watch, whilst basking in the sun eating amazing food. We got a 4 course banquet which included Papaya Salad, white Rose, fish and Banana pancake. It just kept coming and was SO amazing! I loved the cocktails - and everything was so cheap. The service was immpeccable but not too forceful - perfect!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephiKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do yourself a favour and eat here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We came here for late lunch on our first day in Hoi An. I was dubious but my boyfriend was hungry and sick of walking, so we sat down. Wow was I glad we did!

We ordered the cao lau, white rose and ban xeo, everything was sensational. I couldn't believe it actually! The lovely owner showed us how to roll our ban xeo properly after we made a right mess of it - now we have impressive vietnamese dining skills! And at about $2 a dish here, what's not to love!

I like to try new places every day when I travel, and don't like to repeat restaurants, but after a dud meal at a flashier restaurant the next day, we returned to Sao Mai the evening after and went all out! Can also recommend the wantons (SO yum!) and special fish. Just wow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

It's a nice little restaurant with good service in an area that is otherwise full of tourist traps. We ended up coming here several times during our time in Hoi An.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sao Mai morning star also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Sao Mai morning star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing