We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a disappointment”

Thanh Ha Pottery Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.00*
and up
Half-Day Hoi An Craft Villages by Boat
Ranked #46 of 123 things to do in Hoi An
Attraction details
Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“a disappointment”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Everyone was friendly at a first, and we enjoyed taking a try at the potter's wheel; but then the potter began to exert pressure for us to buy something--and became annoyed when we chose not to. She then put her hand out for money, I assume for the time she spent with my husband on the potter's wheel. Could have done without this excursion.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestotravelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    85
    62
    25
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
199 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Traditional pottery at its best”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We enjoyed wandering around the pottery village, talking to the locals and also getting some hands on experience making pottery.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheath27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just about ok”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

This attraction requires a ticket. We paid 25000 VND, a little more than 1USD. The ticket entitled us to a free gift...a clay whistle in the shape of an animal. The animal you receive is determined by your age. I got a dragon and my daughter got a pig ☺

We tried our hand at the potter's wheel and it was enjoyable. We also visited one house where the potters were making what looked like clay cylinders. Most pottery workshops sell the same stuff. Remember to bargain, because prices vary widely. One shop quoted $12 for a painted plate and another one in the village asked for $25 for the same item.

The most interesting shop we visited was the embroidery one, where they promise to reproduce any photograph you provide using embroidery. The pieces on display were very skillfully done and exquisite. This shop and the boat ride from/to the hotel made the trip worthwhile.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank arch_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not really worth it”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Same same - but different. The best part of this few hours was meandering around the little village. The products are much the same from vendor to vendor and the pressure to buy is unbearable!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewarts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No Fixed Abode
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Sure, it's a beautiful setting by the Thu Bon River, has interesting history and mazey alleyways lined by some fascinating old houses where you can have a bash on the pottery wheel. It's downhill from there. There is an entrance free (only 20,000 vnd) and if you miss the toll booth which is easy to do, you get chased down the street. The only pottery made there is the clay earthenware which is pretty average. The more ornate pieces are brought in and sold at inflated prices, even compared with Hoi An Old Town, and the locals insist they are made there despite no evidence of this at all! And the continual hassle to "buy something". They are now constructing a huge brick building near the toll booth which I doubt will help the charm of the place ...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanh Ha Pottery Village also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Thanh Ha Pottery Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing