We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bao Han

Bao Han
Ranked #20 of 732 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting the Bao Han every day we have spent here, either lunch or dinner. It is almost like coming home with every visit. We have only experienced a good service, a cosy atmosphere, and very good food. Fresh fruit and vegetables harvested every morning in their own garden. This family business has fair prices for very well prepared dishes. Our whole family has enjoyed every visit. Can definately recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    155
    40
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More 3.5 rather than 3”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Bao Han was a lovely little restaurant not far from the beach. If I could give it a 3.5 star, I would - better than 3, but not quite a 4. After reading the reviews, we made the drive to enjoy what all the ravings were about. Another sweet little Vietnamese Restaurant. The service was slow - though the restaurant was almost full so can excuse that - besides - on holidays, you have all the time you need! The food was lovely - nothing to rave about though and wouldn't be in a rush to return. I guess though if I was staying in accommodation closer to the beach and my options were limited, I could definitely find this a winner - but with so many wonderful choices in the town, I would much rather discover some other wonderful delights.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oliscali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What more can you say”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

After reviewing this restaurant on trip advisor and experiencing some great HoiAn eateries over the last week,we decided to give this a go.It's different,out of town near the beach and the wonderful Sunrise resort.But it has terrific food and the service by the owner and her staff is second to none.This really was the highlight of vietnamese home style cooking during our stay.Will be back soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Sympathy votes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We tried this restaurant the first night in Hoi An as we were just staying around the corner at the Hoi An Beach Resort, and it had for some reason been given good reviews from other TA members. By the time we had finished (or half finished) our meal, I'm still not sure that I could trust their reviews as being kosher. We started with the pork and shrimp spring rolls which were tough and overcooked, I wanted the steamed duck but was advised against it by the waitress. Ended up having the duck done in a claypot. My wife ordered the barbequed squid - also bad move. My duck was like shoe leather and had very little flavour to it. The squid came out anything but BBQ, and was more like a broiled undercooked piece of rubber (the only time that she was sick in the whole of our trip of 2 weeks was about 4am the next morning, and was glued to the toilet for the next couple of hours. They have a 'no like no pay policy' which the waitress (come maître d/ PR person) insisted that we not pay for. Maybe that's where the sympathy votes come in from other members. We go to try different restaurants for the local food quality, not to try and get out of paying for meals that we ordered (good, bad or indifferent). This was probably one of the worst meals that we had had in any of our travels, and was definitely the worst of our trip to Vietnam and Malaysia. I could not even hope to give this restaurant anymore rating than has been noted.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing in every way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Now this restaurant is a must, it ticks all the boxes. The food is that tasty you don't want to finish it .you get a free portion of rice with your meal and then you get a free coconut ice cream when you finish which was gorgeous and really refreshed your mouth after eating the spicy food. When ordering the owner will tell you if you don't like it she will take it back and get you something else but won't charge you. She does everything in her power to make sure you enjoy your food drinks and the restaurant atmosphere. Hats off to her she has got it so right.
YOU MUST TRY IT..........

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bao Han also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Bao Han? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing