We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place if you like partying”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #179 of 275 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
“Great Place if you like partying”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was a really nice place, for people who don't mind some noise and appreciate the outside bar and pool. Rooms were ok, good breakfast buffet and really friendly staff. Only thing: More of a hostel than a hotel, really.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPooBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    358
    226
    138
    85
See reviews for
30
209
214
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

A big, extremely social hostel. Highly recommended if you are looking for a lively hostel with à great atmosphere. The rooms come with access to a great pool and the breakfast is amazing too! Please do note that it is not a hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pranav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Cleaners went through our bags. Hot water only last 2mins. They threw us out of our room with no warning to make room for 'online bookings' then when we paid a deposit for somewhere else, they then said, a few hours later, that online bookings didn't get filled up so we could stay. So we lost our deposit. Then they tried to charge us for 5k of washing when we checked out, when I only gave them 1k max! They also try to overcharge you and stick extra costs on your bill at checkout do CHECK properly and dont let them rush you to pay! (scam going on).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

If you want some rest STAY ELSEWHERE! This place is full of loud and drunk,on a gap year kids, who not even a reception staff can control. Complaint was made to the manager but nothing was done! Location was on, had to rent a scooter to get around.
Private room we stayed in was clean.
The only thing about this hostel is breaksft! All you can eat,and it's amazing!
Wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EvieWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riberac, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

It depends what your looking for as to whether this place is great or terrible. Firstly they should change the name to hostel instead of hotel. I have no doubt that it was a hotel when it was on the drawing boards but it is in fact a hostel with shared dorms.
I saw a few photos and thought the place looked fine, and booked a bed in a four bed dorm. I was a bit 'annoyed' to find eight of us in there. I must explain that since this was once meant to be a hotel, that the room is just a standard size room that would have fitted a double bed and usual furnishings. After having had a 14 hour sleepless overnight bus ride from nha trang, i couldnt be botherd to kick up a fuss so i decided i'd find somewhere else to go in the morning. Wasnt a very good nights sleep due to all the 18-20 year olds being totally wrecked, (apparently they'd been on a all you can drink night out that had cost five dollars a head, seriously fair play to them, i'd have done the same if i wasn't so knackerd), and a couple of of idiots who decided that trying to fix a minsk motorbike was a good idea between 11.pm and 4 am.
Breakfast was good, lots of variety and an egg station to have omellettes etc made and fresh fruit juice served. After breakfast i booked into another hotel thats actually in the center of hoi an, the sunflower is about a 20 minute walk outside town. When i got my things together and went down to check out they were surprised and said, 'but you booked for 4 nights, so you pay four nights!' After a bit of a discussion i showed them the booking reservation and pointed to the part that said 4 bed dorm room, they're response yes there are four beds in your dorm, bunk bed is only one bed. This annoyed me and since i had already taken my passport back i offered to pay for one night only or they would receive nothing. They werent happy but in all honesty i wasnt either with they're bunkbed = 1 bed excuse.
If like a few of the girls in the dorm room are interested in the just getting wrecked, then this is the place for you. If you want to see the town and enjoy hoi an for what it really is meant to be then go stay in the center of town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and every night I was woken up multiple times but drunk people wandering around the halls singing and screaming at each other. It went on for quite a while it's unbelievable no one told them to be quiet.

My friend also stayed with us in a dorm room and despite booking a 4 bed dorm on the second night he came in to find it had turned into a 6 bed dorm. He had to check he was in the right room as no one informed him they were going to add another bunk. When he went to pay they said they only have 6 bed dorms and that they are the same price as 4. Apparently the booking websites are wrong...but no one has fixed it.

The rooms are fine, comfy bed, large enough, the shower works fine. I wouldn't stay here again but if you are into the whole drunk backpacker scene and dont mind staying in a 6 bed dorm go for it.

Also we heard one girl had all of her luggage stolen while we were here. Prob the drunks not the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Sunflower Hotel is a bit away from the Hoi An city centre and mainly hosts backpackers. So far, alright for us. The twin room was like we expected, clean and with an ensuite bathroom. Breakfast next morning was in fact the greatest on our entite trip...

Why we didn't like Sunflower Hotel so much was because the staff (though being friendly) was very pushy with selling us transport. If asked about other modes of transportation (such as the 18'000 Dong public bus from Hoi An to Danang) they gave very confusing answers... Deliberately, so to push us into taking one of their taxis?

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pazifico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
#88 of 155 in Hoi An
795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#95 of 155 in Hoi An
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#24 of 155 in Hoi An
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hoi An
1.5 mi away
Paddy's Hostel
Paddy's Hostel
#60 of 213 in Hoi An
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
SacLo Homestay and Hostel
SacLo Homestay and Hostel
#29 of 213 in Hoi An
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Property: Sunflower Hotel
Address: 397 Cua Dai | Cam Chau, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunflower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing