We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent budget option, super friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #162 of 244 Hoi An B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent budget option, super friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

This place is nice, they operate a shuttle bus to the Old Quarter every hour on the hour. Room was clean and bed was comfortable, with nice en suite. We swore we saw a bedbug, but it could have just been an insect, either way they offered to move rooms and we didn't get bitten.

The pool is fun but poolside food not great. The pizza was gross.

Staff are amazingly helpful, very honest, laundry was good, and very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    346
    217
    130
    82
See reviews for
30
205
202
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We booked 2 standard rooms with agoda and was generally happy with our selection. There is a great resturant across the road called Solo with lovely owners and beautiful food.
There is a shuttle bus that runs into town every 1/2 hr but if you miss it, it's only a $1 taxi ride. The food was reasonably priced and food was generally good. Pool was an added bonus and kept the kids happy. Beds are extreamly hard and would benifit from a mattress topper to soften things up a little.
They are doing some renovations at the moment, so that can only be good. Our rooms were cleaned each day and the furniture was in new condition. The kids room had two double beds so they were very haapy about that. Air cond worked very well!!!
Staff were mostly nice and helpfull. Beakfast was good with a good selection. Our pick up and drop service from the airport was prompt and very good. The laundry service was cheap but the clothes come back sooo creased up and there was no iron in the room to fix this problem.
A couple of things hat could be improved...
Bath towels are very small, thin and not very white. New ones would be a hugh improvement.
The outdoor area where the pool table is needs to cleared out so the table can be used properly. This area would be a great area to have a few beers and play some pool...but as it is now it is useless.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Sunflowers and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morrowfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We loved the place and stayed with our 2 young children. Great little pool area out back, very close to Hoi An town so an easy walk or they also have a free shuttle. The shuttle is great in that they will go when you want not just a fixed schedule. Breakfast buffet is also a great way to start the day. Overall felt this was fabulous value. Then when we left they drove us for free to our next hotel when we decided to move from the city to the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graveatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

The staff at the hotel are alright, helpful but don't go further than expected. The room was ok but everything was quite old and worn. It smelled of mold, the appliances were old and the sheets smelled funny too. On the other hand, the other half of the hotel was being renovated, so they probably know about this problem and are fixing it. The good thing about the hotel was its pool and breakfast. For breakfast they had an extensive choice of food and it changed daily. The prices in the restaurant were ok too. The hotel is located about 20 min walking from the town center but there is a free shuttle bus from the hotel. All in all, in my opinion you could fo better than this for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We booked throgh Agoda and when we arrived were taken straight to our room on the top floor. Ìf you have walking dificulties i would suggest asking for a room on the bottom floor as there ís no lift. The room ứa probably worth maybe 12$ a night, we paid 17. The ceiling ứa bowing í places, the shower ứa a bit dirty with gecko, cockroach and mouse poo. The shower head didnt work properly. We were ok with this until rained and our room flooded and wet all our packs,clothes and electrical devices that were plugged into the power points near the floor. The service ứa ok, although staff seemed unimpressed when we asked for rain. The included breakfast ứa quite good for the price of the room. Overall average expxperience although what can you expect for 17$ a night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Breakfast is good, pool is good, rooms are clean (but towels looks dirty), Wi-Fi is very slow, location is good. 3 min with cycle to the town and 5 min cycle to the beach. Staff is kind and helpful.
We did not have any problem with the laundry (1$ pr. kg).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Really good value for the rate, pool and surrounds awesome, breakfast very good, rooms large and airy, bed very hard but hey that's Vietnam. Location is just out of old town but easy to get too with taxi/ bike etc
Just some little things which could just make it all that much appealing
1. The towels supplied were grey and disgusting this could be easily fixed with new ones
2. Bit more control over drunks coming home at 0400 hrs. We had to endure some drunken Pommy Sheila Yahooing in the pool - no one tackled her
Front desk staff were inconsistent

But all in all good value

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
1.1 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#43 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#79 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tribee Hostel
Tribee Hostel
#122 of 244 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
SacLo Homestay and Hostel
SacLo Homestay and Hostel
#18 of 194 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nhi Trung Hotel
Nhi Trung Hotel
#58 of 244 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Property: Sunflower Hotel
Address: 397 Cua Dai | Cam Chau, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunflower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing