We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable price, good seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nha Hang Khai

Nha Hang Khai
Ranked #461 of 732 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stopped at the first restaurant Tan Loc for our cocktails but the staff were kind of rude so we decided to move over to Nha Hang Khai. The staff here is much nicer and we had a good meal. I loved the steam clams, roast oysters, and grilled squids. Tamarind crab is usually my favorite dish but the taste and presentation is not very appealing from this restaurant.

Overall, we really enjoyed our meal and we got the free beach chairs afterward.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dmdvfl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

One of our hotel staff advised us to go straight to number 5 and they were so right. Beautiful and different food in a stunning location.

The staff are lovely and helpful and spoke excellent English as they explained the available choices and the prices. We had king clams and a whole fish and two vegetable dishes amongst the three of us - perfect amount and a great night. We will be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rip-Off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Total rip-off. The restaurant was a tip from our tour guide in the Halong Bay. It was supposed to be good and have reasonable prices for Vietnam. The first time we went by to look at the menu, the prices looked reasonable so we decided to go there the next evening. Unfortunately, we were given a different menu - the prices were four times higher! We complained and then we received the other menu, we saw the other day. The food was average. In the end, they tried to rip us off again. The check was higher than it was supposed to be. We complained again and paid the lower price. It is a pity that they try to exploit tourists because the scenery and place is quite nice...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AnonymReisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very very fresh seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Seafood served are really fresh, best eaten by steam. Grilled seafood were however too dry, over-grilled. Price is more than double of danang's seafood restaurants.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dandelion1684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing end to an already average meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was our first visit to Cui Dai and we were so excited to experience the fresh seafood on the beach. Unfortunately we chose the wrong restaurant, Nha Hang Khai. Not only was the food average, the service was terrible. Staff were not attentive and rude. At the end of the meal when paying the bill, the waitress had charged us almost double what she told us the price was per kilogram for some things. When we brought this to there attention they were rude and argued with us saying it was impossible that she had told us the wrong prices. We ended up paying the bill because money was not the problem, it was the principle - the waitress has made a mistake and would not admit it.

There are ample other restaurants on the beach, avoid this one or risk a grossly inflated bill.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nha Hang Khai also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Nha Hang Khai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing