We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the hotel name - this is not a boutique hotel although very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hoi An Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Ranked #54 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beware the hotel name - this is not a boutique hotel although very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The word Boutique conjures up images of a small, beautifully designed hotel with a unique and individual feel. This hotel has none of that. It's a large hotel that caters for coach trips and feels like any other similar hotel around the world. That's not necessary a problem but people should be aware of this.

The hotel is exceptionally clean, the rooms are big, the grounds are lovely and the pool is nice and big. It's also right on the beach with loungers available for hotel guests. We ate a few times at the pool bar and the food was exceptional. Breakfast was extensive with a large choice.

It is out of town but they have a free shuttle bus which runs every couple of hours. If you want to go into town outside of these times they also offer a taxi service (although you will need to pay for this).

The only negatives would be the low standard of English amongst the staff (they simply didn't understand the most basic of questions). Considering the vast majority of guests were English or Australian this needs to be improved. Also as many other people have pointed out if you get a room on the ground floor it has large, floor to ceiling windows with no net curtains. Our room was a few meters away from the pool so we ended up having to keep the curtains closed the whole time as people could see straight in. My advice would be to request an upper floor room.

One final point would be about the spa. I went to have nail polish reapplied and the girl who did this, although lovely, clearly wasn't trained and I could have done this better myself. There was no undercoat or topcoat and the polish was full of air bubbles and was smudged.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room as there is no privacy on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TigerLilyVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    484
    133
    20
    4
See reviews for
313
877
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great resort out of Hoi An town. Free shuttle service into town and complimentary cycle hire. If you are looking for a place to just relax, this is it. Town centre is a bit more alive with a choice of restaurants, local cuisine, pubs etc

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ausieonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Avoid rooms 100 to 112. Other reviewers have mentioned the problem of flooding the bathroom every time you use the shower, due to a really stupid design fault. Also these rooms have big floor to ceiling glass doors looking straight onto a patio where many people walk by looking straight in at you, so it's a bit like being in a zoo.. On complaining about the flooding we were moved to room 501 which was much better, it had a large walk-in shower cubicle and was positioned in a way that made it completely private as nobody walked past.

Don't pay the hotel prices for meals, drinks or laundry, all of which you can find much cheaper across the road, and your money will go to local people who need it rather than to a big hotel chain.

Can I just give a plug to the lovely ladies at the Mia Casa restaurant up the road - turn left out of the hotel and walk along the road for 10 minutes, it's on the opposite side across from the Palm hotel. We had a couple of delicious lunches there and they also did our laundry for a very reasonable price. We enjoyed chatting with teenage daughter of the family who was very sweet and even gave me a lift back to the hotel with my bag of laundry on the back of her scooter!

Room Tip: Avoid 100 to 112 as the big glass doors give on to a walkway so everyone passing by looks right in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bristolians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned from a 2-night stay and wish we could have stayed here longer. Given the very affordable room rate, we had no expectation prior arriving, and was pleasantly surprised with the impeccable service standard ( knowing how difficult to hire good staff in a newly developed resort area can be ). Beautiful colonial style decor gives an atmosphere of timelessness, just the kind of setting you want to be in. You are literally 30 seconds ( or less ) to the beach, and ended up walking bare-foot the entire time we were there because you are either walking on the grassy lawn or on the fine sand. Breakfast comes free ( did not expect it ) and has good selection. Hardly anyone stayed in the hotel for lunch or dinner because Hoi An old town is just 15 mins away by the free shuttle bus provided by the hotel.

And the hotel staff also arranged a nice private car for us going to the airport ( 400,000 dong or USD 20), and the rate is actually cheaper than getting the local taxi, so definitely do that, they will get you one drives safely. All and all, very happy with this hotel and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenladybug01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romanshorn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

As soon as we arrived at the resort, we knew and we felt that the next five days, we will be really on a holiday mode. Warm towels and a cold juice (a bit tasteless) and the friendly Receptionist welcomed us. She gave us thorough information about the resort, recommended Restaurants in the old city as well as tailor shops for customize suit. It was a smooth check-in. All of our special requests were met (non-smoking room, high floor & large bed). Our spacious superior double room was located on the 4th floor (highest floor & corner room to our delight) with great view overlooking the whole resort, the beach, the villas and the coconut trees (what a view!). For Internet fanatics, Wi-Fi Connection was available 24/7. We had a late night dinner at the resort’s Le Café. The service was friendly, the staffs tried their best to be understood when they spoke in English (they smiled and laughed most of the time), the ambience was very romantic and the food was savory (we had spring rolls, beef with lemongrass and red snapper with pepper sauce). The huge and soft bed was one of the highlight of this boutique resort plus the French-style architecture gave us a feeling of being in Europe and in Asia all at once. We slept like babies! For breakfast, the buffet was great with a lot of touch of Vietnamese dishes (from Dim Sum to Fried Pao, Congee to Spring Rolls, Noodles to Iced Coffee). And the fresh local fruits were mouthwatering! We tried the aromatherapy massage for 60 minutes for 600,000 VND ++ (Foot Soak and Salt and Lime Scrub inclusive) at the Le Spa located just in front of the lovely pool. It was heaven! Not forgetting the well-manicured garden surrounding the treatment rooms. After the massage, cold tea was offered (a combination of lemongrass, lime, peppermint leaves and honey). It was very refreshing (better than the welcome drink!). There was no single turn down service made during our stay (I miss this service) and hooks are missing on the toilet. The toilet bowl was a bit old and small especially for European guests and the tiles should be changed as well. The Eco-idea with the plastic sleepers and the three mini-vase container for body lotion, shampoo and shower gel was one of a kind (other resort should follow!). However, the resort location is a bit ironic. On the right side are residential houses (slums) and in front are clusters of local and not so nice restaurants. Plus the non-stop Karaoke Session from the residential area was horrible! They doesn’t match with the resort’s image. By the way, the resort offers a free shuttle service to and from the Old City. Be sure to take advantage of it but not the pickup service from or to the airport. It was too pricy!!! We paid 700,000 VND for a 45minute drive from Da Nang Airport to the resort (one way). And for the same service you could book it thru Go Travel Vietnam at the Old City for just 290,000 VND. We booked this service going back to the airport. The lowlights of this resort were the old Pool Umbrellas, 2 star service at the beach and the very few pool & beach deck chairs. A lot of guests (mostly German) placed some of their stuffs at the deck chairs, had breakfast, went shopping and viola! The deck chairs were reserved for them for almost 24 hours! They did it everyday!

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tumfave815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights which was supposed to be a relaxing break in the middle of our two weeks holiday. Unfortunately the weather was not what we expected so could not participate a sit on the beach as a really strong wind was in place and the sand was whippedtoo but apart from that no complaints at all on the accommodation we were on the ground floor overlooking the swimming pool which had plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas. If there was a negative to this hotel it would be that there are patio windows and if you are on the ground floor there is no privacy I think a set of curtains that allows you to see out but nobody to see in would be a good idea. The food was good, the standard of the rooms were good, rooms spacious. It is out of town but as said in further reviews a courtesy bus is laid on. The last one is 9.30 but if this is full the hotel lay on a taxi at their expense for guests. Hoi An town is really pretty and if you want any clothes or shoes made this is the place to have them done. Lovely restaurants. We went on a cooking course with the Red Bridge Restaurant which was really enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited this hotel in September 2011. After visiting a number of other cities in Vietnam, we were looking for a place to relax and unwind from a busy travel schedule. Boutique Hoi An Resort offered top class facilities and excellent service.
Not only did we receive a delicious Birthday cake for a member of the group but also a personalised thank you from the Hotel Manager after visiting (as we had filled in their comments card).
The rooms were huge and the pool was great for cooling off from the humid weather. Breakfast variety was excellent and make sure you try the 'crazy fruits' drink from the bar!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AronC235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
2.4 mi away
Le Belhamy
Le Belhamy
#78 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
1.6 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hoi An Resort

Property: Boutique Hoi An Resort
Address: 34 Lac Long Quan Street | Ward Cam An, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#35 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hoi An Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is set on the renowned ‘Cua Dai Beach’ Hoi An. With its central location, the resort is only 35 minutes from Da Nang airport and 5 minutes to explore the old heritage town of Hoi An. The ancient town of Hoi An, 30 km south of Da Nang, lies on the banks of the Thu Bon River. Occupied by early western traders, Hoi An was one of the major trading centers of Southeast Asia in the 16th century.Hoi An has a distinct Vietnamese atmosphere with low, tile-roofed houses and narrow streets; the original structure of some of these streets still remains almost intact. All the houses were made of wood, decorated with lacquered boards and panels engraved with old ancient characters. Pillars were also carved with ornamental designs. Hoi An have earned the town status as a heritage site by the UNESCO and has become a very popular tourist destination in Vietnam.All rooms are facing the sea with private balconies and some have direct access to the beach from private terraces. Room facilities featured single and double vanity, bathtub or shower, air-conditioning, television, IDD telephone, mini bar, safety box, hairdryer, wireless internet, coffee and tea making facilities. A large swimming pool is in the center of the resort surrounded by a tropical garden. A spa, located next to the pool, is a haven for pure relaxation and rejuvenation. Our spa facilities include three treatment rooms, five massage pavilions and two steam rooms. Pedicure and manicure services are also available at our resort’s spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Fastbooking so you can book your Boutique Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hoi An Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing