We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overpriced and damp!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nhat Huy Hoang Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nhat Huy Hoang Hotel
Ranked #191 of 218 Hoi An B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced and damp!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

It was Tet, so everywhere was expensive or booked up and after walking around for the best part of an hour we walked into this one and looked at a very large double room with a balcony and bathroom.

The room cost $15 a night and had a warm shower, TV and fridge, unfortunately the downside was a springy warn out mattress, no working air-con or fan (which made it really hot in the evenings), holes in the towel, stains on the sheets and there was a smell of dampness and damp patches on the ceiling. It defiantly needs a bit of a refurbishment!

I stayed for 2 nights with my girlfriend and had not read any of these reviews until we took the room on, luckily we never had any issues with the staff. They were really helpful and gave us a map and told us where the sights are and where to go for the fireworks display for Tet. They also arranged a bus to Hue for us for $10 (not sure if this was a rip off or not as travel in Vietnam is fairly expensive).

I did notice one of the guest arguing with the receptionist over a stolen sim card but we never had anything stolen from our room (although we always kept the key and didn't leave anything valuable in the room).

My only annoyance would be when we were booking up some flights for ourselves in our room, I sent my girlfriend to get our passports and they would not give them to her until we had paid, she even offered to bring the money down straight away or for them to come up to the room to collect the money but the receptionist just kept repeating; it's against our policy to give you back the passports until the money has been paid! This meant my girlfriend had to come back to the room get the money, pay reception and get our passports and by this time our information had timed out!

We couldn't connect to their wi-fi but instead used an open network, so that we didn't have to go down to the reception area.

Other than this we really enjoyed our time in Hoi An and feel this hotel should not reflect on the the people or town itself ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    8
    7
    40
See reviews for
3
13
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ベトナム
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Employee awareness of the hotel here is too low.
Into the room with the master key, steal the money of travelers.
There are a variety of passengers is compromised.

Room Tip: Should not be used
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank さかなちゃん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Northampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

One word: rodents! I was looking for inexpensive accommodation, and this place was less expensive than other places I inquired at. The room was in the attic on the 4th floor, and there was an opening towards the stairs that made me ask if there was any chance of rodents coming in. I said I had food, and would it be safe in my room? They said it would be fine. I woke up in the middle of the night, and I heard a rodent in my room. The rodent had got into my food bag that I hung from the ceiling. I switched to a room they had listed at a higher price, and they gave me the same rate, which was decent. But, it was still on the 4th floor, and the rodents probably just come in right under the roof eaves. I had my food on a coat rack, and they jumped to open a hole in my food bag, and sunflower seeds dropped onto the floor. Thereafter, I showed the staff, and they saw the evidence, but they didn't offer anything for compensation. I asked for a place to store my food, and they said the reception desk would be fine, which was correct. But, the rodent(s) then went into the bag I kept my soap, and ate the soap. When I brought this up to the staff, they just kept saying that since they didn't actually see the rodent in my room, they wouldn't do anything. They were quite rude about it. I checked out to a much nicer hotel for $15, that was about 100 times better. But, even at check-out, the main staff member I dealt with tried to charge me an extra night, but then another staff member showed that the other staff member was charging the last night twice. The main staff member was yelling at me, and she said sorry once when she realized her mistake, but it was not very geniune.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MA_Traveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznań
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stay away. Really, really bad, dirty, smelly. The worst choice in Hoi An. People working there rude and anpolite always trying to cheat you.

Do not go there! But if you still want to check before you book. Look at bathroom or samthing pretends to be bathroom. My bathroom was a ruin and the thub was repaired many times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Pen, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I saw very big COCKROACH in my room 102.
The room was very wet and dirty and smells like
mold. Especially, I saw some guy lost his money inside of his
room, so I didn't wanna stay more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gcnb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We'd stayed there without knowing how the tripadvisor's users say about this hotel.
actually it's hardly can say this is a hotel.
it was a worst choice i've ever made during 15-day-trip. my laudry bag had been conquered by the ants family and it was a discusting experience which made me to throw my clothes away into the trashcan in the end.. my friend was shocked when she found an red ant walking through the bed she sleeps, right beside her head.
Cleaness is totally awful in this hotel and also awful the manager. she tried her best to be kind before we decided to stay in there but turned out to be rude after everymoment we hand in our passports. Our room's airconditioner had a problem so we'd asked for a room change but all we could understand was she'll fix that so we should go out for trip and if it doesn't work after we comeback then we can change our room.
Fortunately, the airconditioner had been fixed but in the night while i was just getting into the bathroom to take a shower she abrutly come into our room and ask for the remote control of the airconditioner. Probably other rooms had similar problems we had. Moreover, the manager rudely asked us for the key ,which turned out to be her fault to lost, but we've never heard "sorry" or any other excuse for that happening. OVERALL HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE THAT AFFECTED WHOLE TRIP IN HOI AN. NEVER COMING BACK HERE!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hijkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was the most terrible hottel in my trip.
In the first time staff seems like very friendly but after that she looked irritated all the moment we'd stayed in here
i recommend u never go there
even the price is unreasonable and room,towels,sheet of bed is very very dirty.
All of the room has a lot offf ants
my and my friends laudry was be house of ant. When i was sleeping on the bed they walked on my body
because of this hotel i felt hoi an is the most terrible city in my memory.
You never never com this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lieny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 134 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#36 of 134 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thanh Binh II Hotel
Thanh Binh II Hotel
#122 of 134 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thien Nga Hotel
Thien Nga Hotel
#93 of 134 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thanh Binh III Hotel
Thanh Binh III Hotel
#110 of 134 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thuy Duong 3 Hotel
Thuy Duong 3 Hotel
#73 of 134 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nhat Huy Hoang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhat Huy Hoang Hotel

Property: Nhat Huy Hoang Hotel
Address: 58 Ba Trieu St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 218 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing