We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it, but I'm frustrated by it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Hoa Su Frangipani
Ranked #105 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I love it, but I'm frustrated by it.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Difficult to put a label on this one. I've stayed here twice and will probably go there again, but it frustrates me a little.

It's not really a hotel, nor is it what I would call a villa, it's more like an exotic bed and breakfast.

The property is a building with only 5 or6 rooms adjacent to the most amazing gardens and pools that you have ever seen. These alone make it worth the stay.

It is some distance out of town in a beautiful area, quiet and picturesque. It is absolutely the most peaceful and relaxed place I have ever stayed in.

Some frustrations however:
Rooms are of a beautiful, stylish, modern design, but like so many resent SE Asia hotels, they are poorly finished and show signs of wear and tear rapidly. Plumbing fixtures corroding, tiles looking scruffy, doors sticking etc., etc.. The standard of cleaning is adequate but not excellent and this too is making the rooms look a little "tired".

There are no coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms. I find this very surprising and irritating because there is no restaurant, bar or cafe available either.

Staff are are really helpful but sometimes hard to find. Early risers will find that there may only be a gardener on duty. He will make you a cup of (very strong) coffee or tea, but speaks virtually no English, so can't do much more.

When more staff arrive, later, they are charming and will do absolutely anything for you, light meals, Pho, drinks, all wonderful, but I wish it was all a more organised.

I think the owners should think seriously about closing for a week or two in low season and moving in some top quality designers/builders and do a thorough "smarten-up". It doesn't need much, just some ATTENTION to DETAIL. They could then probably double the room rates and still have people clamouring to stay.

I, for one, would be back.

Please don't be put off too much by my comments, you'll love it, with or without improvements! One of my favourite places in the world.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms opening onto pool are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogeroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    40
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
99
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

small villa with a blooming garden, a pond with goldfish and a swimming pool. marble bath in a small courtyard behind each number. Breakfast was boring, the room cost more than promised on the website, but the extraordinary beauty of the garden and a comfortable bed redeems all the shortcomings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hana-Liebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had booked a villa at Villa Hoa Su Frangipani, i wouldn't call it a villa, it was a large room. There are 7 rooms which are all connected, in the description on bookings.com it had villa with private pool, the pool is for all guests. The outdoor shower and stone bath was great. The bed was a bit hard. The gardens are absolutely stunning and the pool. Breakfast was ok. There are complimentary bicycles which we used to ride into Hoi An. Overall it's a really nice friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Villa Hoa Su is a bit far from the center of the city but for sure deserve an excellent grade.
The service they provide is excellent. Staff is extremely nice and caring always available to provide good tips.
Room are really comfortable and always clean.
Finally location is quite nice as the villa is located in a quiet and peaceful neighboorhood.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Not many people there and very quiet (excepted 5am).
Pool is beautiful and was always empty, when we were there.
Nice individual Breakfast can be ordered.
Only 1 bad thing: during our stay startet every morning at 5am a speaker terribly loud shouting and Music somewhere in the neighbourhood which always woke us up.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ichi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

During our three month holiday this was the worst room we have had. We booked a room through agoda wanting to splurge on what we thought would be a fantastic stay. When we arrived we were asked if we wanted to upgrade for $20 more a night. We declined since we were already paying above our budget at $50. We were then taken to our room which was through the reception area and up a flight of stairs completely isolated and easily accessed by the alley. The room itself looked like a dungeon and was very cold. The mattress (rather foam) on the bed was half black and we barely wanted to sit on it let alone sleep. We checked every bed for 3 months and never saw another like this one. The hotel grounds itself are very nice and could be enjoyed in nicer weather. We did approach the manager in regards to our feelings on the room and she said did not care. We actually disliked it so much we left early forfeited a night. We moved to Hai Au which we loved. If you are thinking of booking here go for the superior room and not the deluxe

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank addicted2thesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

During our Vietnam travels from HCMC up the coast we've arrived in Hoi An and was blessed to found this hidden gem of a hotel. Elegant spacious rooms, natural paradise of a garden outside, very quite location still in a short walking distance from main touristic area. I'm very rarely give an excellent rating to a hotel, but this one was simply perfect. Don't let price misguide you, it's better than some 5 star city hotels. If your up to living in quite house not immediately in downtown area, and this is a good thing in Hoi An, you'd like this place a lot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Atlas Hoi An Hotel
Atlas Hoi An Hotel
#73 of 144 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
3.3 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#81 of 144 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Trails Resort
Hoi An Trails Resort
#63 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
KOI Resort and Spa Hoi An
KOI Resort and Spa Hoi An
#86 of 144 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Hoa Su Frangipani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hoa Su Frangipani

Property: Villa Hoa Su Frangipani
Address: Hamlet No 5, Cam Thanh Ward | Hoian City, Quang Nam Province, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#24 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Hoa Su Frangipani 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Hoa Su Frangipani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hoa Su Frangipani Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing