We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
121
41
18
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
41
18
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslily ponda minute cab ridecool downhot waterda nang airportthe hustle and bustlecua dai beachbikespagodatownretreatmarketcountrysideriver
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 192 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This little hideaway is truly one of the reasons we enjoyed Hoi An so much more. Only 3 km away but being able to ride the resorts' bikes into town every day -at our own leisure, gave us much more privacy than if we had stayed in the old, somewhat noisy quarter.

There is a fantastic pool that awaits you after your day's end, which was great for us who were in town to do some biking and jogging on top of the usual 'retailing'.

Breakfast by the koi pond is always an incredible experience with the freshest, crunchiest and warmest baguettes, native-orange juice, fuits and omelettes. And all of the guys in the team are always ready to please you.

We asked for a special dinner and it was arranged. We asked for special massages from an outside spa... they called and arranged. So, I have to say that we got so much more than we expected and we would come back to Hoa Su for sure on our next trip back to this region.

Selfishly, Id like to see them have a cook/chef available almost 24 hours for days when lazing by the pool, drinking cocktails and munching on rolls is the order of the day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lujoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were slightly concerned about the location of this hotel, but being a little out of the main city turned out to be a blessing. We were provided with free bicycles (and a location to leave them safely for the day in town) and made the short ride into town each morning. You could safely ride back at night as there was minimal traffic, or catch a cab for around 50 dong. The resort itself is small and intimate - our room was on the lower level facing out to a beautiful pool and pond area with a pagoda where we had an amazing complimentary breakfast each morning. All the mod cons - safe in room, DVD player, bottled water - were much appreciated, as was the exceptional service here. The resort organised our transport on our last day to Danang train station for a flat rate of $15. It was a comfortable private car and definitely the best option. We will DEFINITELY be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hoi An is such a wonderful little town, the highlight of our trip. The people totally make the place and Villa Hoa Su is no exception.... The staff were so helpful, from chau the lovely owner, the girls that run around after everyone at breakfast and beyond, as well as Mr Bond. The property is gorgeous with its landscaped gardens, fish, birds and peaceful surrounds. I developed a stomach ulcer before I arrived and the girls went out of their way escorting me into town to the doctors (translating) and waiting around to make sure I was ok. And may I say the doctor was extremely good... An experience to go thru thats for sure. It truely is an 'oasis' whether coming back after a days scootering or spending a relaxing day by the pool or gardens. There is only 5 rooms so you are never overloaded with people. We met a lovely english couple aswell as 2 girls from brazil and england who were lovely chatting over breakfast each morning sharing stories. The rooms are clean altho the mattresses are hard - where isn't in vietnam? Scooter hire for around $5au per day. The pool is just gorgeous and the bathroom outside was a lovely touch. Perfectly situated between town and the beach, Ao Bang Beach is lovely (Le Banyan Bar & Restaurant).
My Son Ruins is not far for a half day trip and can be booked by the girls who recommend early morning tours. My parents thought this place was absolute Perfection! You will not regret booking here, its a perfect taste of old school vietnam....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missy_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I visited Hoi An on our recent trip to Vietnam.
We tried to choose all our hotels based on size and service. We feel like if you travel and use smaller hotels, not only will you get better service, but you can contribute to the local economy in even a more direct way.

This hotel is beautiful. There is one large building which has 5 villas in it that are well appointed and very clean. The entire property is gardened and meticulously cared for. There is a very nice pool that is perfect to cool off in and it is surrounded by a koi pond. It's just so peaceful. Breakfast is great and served in a beautiful covered building right in the middle of the koi pond. Everywhere you look is beautiful garden.

Rooms have great beds, very clean linens, good A/C and great bathrooms. The water pressure is a little dodgey at times and at one point during one of my showers, the water straight up stopped coming out altogether. It was a little frustrating, but not that big of a deal. Your bathroom also has a french door which leads outdoors to another shower and nice big bathtub. This was fantastic

It is a short cab or moto or free bike ride to the downtown bustle of Hoi An, turning right at the main road brings you to the beach in even a shorter ride, so in that regard its a perfect location, halfway b/n the town and the beach. Some may not like being out of town, but for us we were quite tired of the mista mista, boat boat and all that kind of "tout"ing that happens in town, so we loved being just out of town.
The hotel provides the free bikes or you can rent their moto bike for like 6bucks a day.

We loved it and I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Every room in this tiny hotel is great
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gdogg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our first trip to Vietnam, our flights were messed up and my wife, daughter and I arrived at this small 5 room boutique hotel a day early at 10:30pm. The night watchman found us a room and we never looked back. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms very comfortable, clean and elegant. Breakfast is in on the pagoda in the middle of the lily pond. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We found the free bikes excellent to get around on and saw much more of Hoi An than we would have done had we stayed in the centre or used taxis. One night we had a family style Vietnamese meal cooked for us in the Pagoda and that was good, other days we got a taxi into town (didn't fancy cycling the roads at night) and back for a few dollars. The staff organize and you only have to wait 10 minutes.

We stayed 4 nights, and our standard routine became a nice breakfast, followed by a 15 minute bike ride into town, or a 25 minute bike ride to the beach (sometimes both). Mid-afternoon we would return hot and tired and leap into the small pool by the lily ponds. Cool down and freshen up, then into town for dinner and more things to see.

Villa Hoa Su Frangipani was a quiet oasis for us in Hoi An (we had yet to experience a larger city in Vietnam), where we could relax, cool down, freshen up and be ready for the next adventure. Met some interesting people in the pool as well.

Room Tip: Rooms seem very similar
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews