We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
121
41
18
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
41
18
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslily ponda minute cab ridecool downhot waterda nang airportthe hustle and bustlecua dai beachbikespagodatownretreatmarketcountrysideriver
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 192 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our first trip to Vietnam, our flights were messed up and my wife, daughter and I arrived at this small 5 room boutique hotel a day early at 10:30pm. The night watchman found us a room and we never looked back. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms very comfortable, clean and elegant. Breakfast is in on the pagoda in the middle of the lily pond. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We found the free bikes excellent to get around on and saw much more of Hoi An than we would have done had we stayed in the centre or used taxis. One night we had a family style Vietnamese meal cooked for us in the Pagoda and that was good, other days we got a taxi into town (didn't fancy cycling the roads at night) and back for a few dollars. The staff organize and you only have to wait 10 minutes.

We stayed 4 nights, and our standard routine became a nice breakfast, followed by a 15 minute bike ride into town, or a 25 minute bike ride to the beach (sometimes both). Mid-afternoon we would return hot and tired and leap into the small pool by the lily ponds. Cool down and freshen up, then into town for dinner and more things to see.

Villa Hoa Su Frangipani was a quiet oasis for us in Hoi An (we had yet to experience a larger city in Vietnam), where we could relax, cool down, freshen up and be ready for the next adventure. Met some interesting people in the pool as well.

Room Tip: Rooms seem very similar
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We can not forget those moments of relaxation at Villa Hoa Su. It has 5 villas infront of the swim pool. Our villas was quite large, very clean, the bed was large and comfy, the shower and toilet were clean, the back courtyard was very pretty with bath and outdoor shower... although we didn't use either. Prices for food and drinks here are very reasonable breakfast is made to order: western and vietnamese choices available. Delicious and more choices for all. During our time at the Villa we had dinner twice and can honestly say it was delicious, and looking out onto the beautiful gardens made it even better. The people who running the hotel are very polite, kind and caring. A valuable place to come and enjoy life.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vadim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I booked this based upon Trip Advisor reviews, and when we arrived on the 9th September we couldn't quite believe how beautiful it was.
There are around 5 villas and three hotel rooms, and the pictures on the website do not do the surroundings justice. There is a beautiful pagoda to sit and have breakfast on every day (and dinner if you notify the staff - but be prepared you get what you are given, which is delicious and plentiful for around USD 20.00). The pool lies amidst a stunning pond full of beautiful fish, the setting is both tranquil and relaxing. There are lovely bikes to borrow (at no extra cost) to go to the town centre (approx 4km away) or to the beach (approx 4km away) - this really is so much fun and we spent our entire time hopping on the bikes and visiting somewhere new.
We stayed in one of the villas which offered a large room complete with cable television, large double bed, sofa and both indoor and outdoor bathroom. The air con was fantastic and we never needed to leave it on overnight. The outdoor bathroom is really very charming and a special deature of the villas. Admittedly, there are perhaps a few little things that need to be improved in the rooms (just a little maintenance), but you must understand that everything is so gorgeous and the staff are so fantastic that you can completely overlook any little things like the odd small stain on the wall, or a broken drawer handle.
The staff are exceptional, nothing is ever too much trouble and they offer both decent and helpful advice (such as visiting My Son temple ridiculously early in the morning - brilliant idea to avoid the crowds and the heat). Taxis are ordered and prices agreed by the hotel before you get in, so no bartering over using the meter.
There is a chap called Bon who worked in the evenings, I mention him specifically as was such a delight to have a chat to on the way back to the villa and always offered such wonderful advice as to which beaches to go to, and the best restaurants in town.
I cannot recommend this place enough, and secretly would like to keep it to myself but feel it's only fair to share such a magical little oasis with others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KatieO82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have stayed in Hoa Su for one week. We were amazed when seeing this place and we certainly did not want to leave at the end of the full week. This is a sure place to return to.
Its a mini boutique hotel on the river, with ducks swimming there. It has 5 villas infront of the swim pool, one luxiourus vila in the 2nd floor and two simpler rooms.
Each villa has inner bath room and a lovely bath room in a a patio open to the sky, full of plants and amazlingly decorated/desinged.
The room are magnificant, very beautiful, very comfortable and pleasure to be at.
The hotel has lovely little swimpool serounded by a huge fish and water lilies. everything was built in a perfect symteric way.
The place for breakfast is built as a ramp above the fish pool, so all arround you are water lilies and colorful fish.
The people running the hotel are very servicable, polite, kind and caring. The place is extremely clean and breath taking.
The breakfast is gernorous and served nicely.
there were free bycyles for all the quests to use. we got umbrellas when it rained.
Everything was done to make our stay a pleasure.

Room Tip: The room in the 2nd floor is the nicest in the hotel. It has view to the river and to the enitre hotel's garden.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iritv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I am writing my review while taking my last swim in the wonderful little swimming pool of the hotel. What can i say...this place is just heaven...We were going to spend just 2 nights in Hoi an but after the first night we decided to extend our stay to 5 nights. The hotel is small, with 5 fantastic deluxe rooms with a gorgeous uncovered shower (there is also a covered one i did use). The common área is probably the most charming one i had been and i have travelled a lot. Beautiful swimmingpool surrounded by a pond full of fish, frogs, water lillies....breakfast was delicious too. Try the cao lau which is a local speciallity. Mrs Thu the woman in charge was great too, providing with all the information in the área, as beaches, villages to visit...rent one of their motorbikes to discover the area. Location is also perfect just 10 minutes in bycicle to Hoi an, peaceful and quiet and 10 minutes to the beach which is also very nice. Very highly recommended place

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricardochar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews