We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel within walking or cycling distance from the old city center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Like Hoi An Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Like Hoi An Hotel
Ranked #56 of 135 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel within walking or cycling distance from the old city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel by phone. The rooms are nice for their price. The swimming pool is too small for actual swimming, but who needs a swimming pool when the beach is nearby. The hotel offers free bike rental for customers, which is probably the best way to get around Hoi An and surroundings. The hotel offers an airport pickup, but taking a regular taxi may save you some money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ropstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    183
    56
    25
    15
See reviews for
66
232
69
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the Thanh Van 2 Hotel for 4 nights - it was organised by our hotel in Hanoi. We had two rooms - one double and one twin - all twin rooms in Vietnam came with two double beds hence they were bigger. We went on the recommendation of the hotel in Hanoi and it has been the best hotel so far. Initially we were concerned about the location of the hotel but there is a shuttle bus that leaves on the hour to take people into their sister hotel Thanh Van 1 which is in the city centre. This worked really well for us but if you didn't want to wait the walk doesn't take that long either. Being away from the busy shopping area means that the traffic noise is quieter. There is a lift so if you are on one of the top floors the stairs are not a problem.

The beds are firm but we have noticed that this is a Vietnam normal. We have had much firmer beds than the beds at Thanh Van 2 since we have been in Vietnam. The bottom sheet is changed every day regardless of how long you stay so they always have that fresh feeling when you go to bed.

There is a 24hr room service and we found the menu to be well priced compared to the local restaurants. There was also a good variety on the menu.

All the staff are very friendly - front desk people and the cleaning staff. They are also very helpful - they organised flights for us from Na Dang to Ho Chi Minh City which we were able to pay for with the credit card as the hotel will only accept cash to pay for the rooms. They also sorted out a mix up with the hotel spa immediately with ease. It was Rebecca's birthday whilst we stayed and when the staff found this out they organised a cake and flower for her.

The breakfasts are great and according to Heidi (21) who traveled Europe last year it is one of the best buffet breakfasts she has ever had. The omelet cooked to order on the spot was a highlight each morning.

The pool is in the shade in the afternoon but this suited us as we found it far to hot to actually lie out in the blazing sun and a refreshing swim after a few hours of wandering the shops was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent our holidays in Thanh Van 2 hotel 5 night; I really had a FANTASTIC time. The room were super and clean. they have bicycles free any times for you ( untill midnight ) We felt very impressed with the staff. They did an excellent job in helping us organising the rest of our trip. They showed their smile during 24 hour working and tried to help us at anytime. We would like to send our compliments to them. Thank you very much all girls. I will be back to meet you.

Room Tip: you should chose sub room, it have bancony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonbou88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were very impressed with our room: beautiful dark wooden floor, wooden furniture, bathroom with natural stone tiles, and a nice balcony. The only downside is the latex mattress which is rather firm, or you might say, hard.

The swimming pool is large enough to do some real swimming. It only gets sunshine in the morning, so if you want to laze by the pool, morning is the time to do it.

Breakfast is included and they offer a large buffet with lots of choices.

Both the reception staff and the housekeeping staff are very cheerful and happy to help. When we complained about the low strength of the wifi signal in our room, someone turned up to install a modem right in our room.

The location is great for going to An Bang beach, yet not too far from town. The little backpacker strip on Tran Cao Van with Cafe 43 (and others) is within easy walking distance. Almost opposite the hotel (at 516 Hai Ba Trung) is an unassuming but very good vegetarian restaurant that does the best veggie hotpot in town.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank veggie_op_reis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this hotel by the taxi driver at the train station, not normally suggested but after 15 hours of travelling we didn't care! As in everywere in Vietnam everybody is trying to sell you something! We arrived at the hotel to a lovely welcome, they tried selling us an upstairs room for 27usd per night, but having been told 20usd we refused and they then informed us there was a room for 20usd downstairs, that suited us fine & we checked in. The room was lovely, spacious and well equipped! The bath tub made a big difference, as you can imagine after weeks in shared showers! They offer free bicycles but unfortunately we were only able to use them once as it seems other guests use them & hold onto the keys even when their not in use! The wifi is touch & go depending we're you are in the hotel, but there are computers in the reception area to use, there is also a free shuttle bus into the town centre but that's unnecessary as its only a 10 minute stroll! Unfortunately the pool is built at the side on the building, meaning it is predominately in the shade, so if your a sun worshipper like myself it's useless! Overall we had an enjoyable stay, the staff were helpful and the room was clean, with only a few minor hiccups!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinao89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here for a week and luckily, this is my very favourite discovery. The reception girls are so beautiful, my be the most beautiful vietnamese girls I have seen in Vietnam, and so friendly. The bicycle are always ready for you to go the the Old Town, just less than five minute away. My room is on the fourth floor where I can see the villages below and the green rice field a bit away, please choose the room facing to the north.
The swimming pool is not so big but always ready for you after a hot day with clean and dry towers.
The beakfast is so standard with veriety choices: fresh milk, fruits, never forget to try the Vietnamese coffee that they call " ca fe sua da".
come to stay with them and you will have much more than just a hotel on holiday.

Room Tip: the north side is the best if you would like the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

While the hotel is a little away from old town ( 5 min bike ride),everything else is excellent.
And since its a bit off the old town grid, the prices are excellent.

My room was huge. Very well done up and felt like a 4 star at minimum.
Lovely balcony overlooking the pool and beyond.
Breakfast was lovely. Live egg counter et all.

Staff is also very friendly and helpful.

Right opposite the hotel is a bike rental place. Get yourself a scooter and you wont feel you are not in the middle of the action. (The same can be rented from the hotel for a higher price. avoid)

The in-house spa is also wonderful and cheaper than most spas in old town area. Nothing like coming back home to a lovely massage.

Overall, lovely and recommended.

Room Tip: Pool facing, on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sohil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.4 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#76 of 135 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#61 of 135 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Trust Villa
Trust Villa
#93 of 135 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hoa My II Hotel
Hoa My II Hotel
#80 of 135 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hai Au Boutique Hotel
Hai Au Boutique Hotel
#46 of 135 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Like Hoi An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Like Hoi An Hotel

Property: Like Hoi An Hotel
Address: 467 Hai Ba Trung | Tan An, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Thanh Van 2 Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 135 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Like Hoi An Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Like Hoi An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing