We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An average stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Like Hoi An Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Like Hoi An Hotel
Ranked #57 of 134 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“An average stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this hotel by the taxi driver at the train station, not normally suggested but after 15 hours of travelling we didn't care! As in everywere in Vietnam everybody is trying to sell you something! We arrived at the hotel to a lovely welcome, they tried selling us an upstairs room for 27usd per night, but having been told 20usd we refused and they then informed us there was a room for 20usd downstairs, that suited us fine & we checked in. The room was lovely, spacious and well equipped! The bath tub made a big difference, as you can imagine after weeks in shared showers! They offer free bicycles but unfortunately we were only able to use them once as it seems other guests use them & hold onto the keys even when their not in use! The wifi is touch & go depending we're you are in the hotel, but there are computers in the reception area to use, there is also a free shuttle bus into the town centre but that's unnecessary as its only a 10 minute stroll! Unfortunately the pool is built at the side on the building, meaning it is predominately in the shade, so if your a sun worshipper like myself it's useless! Overall we had an enjoyable stay, the staff were helpful and the room was clean, with only a few minor hiccups!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinao89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    184
    56
    25
    15
See reviews for
66
233
69
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here for a week and luckily, this is my very favourite discovery. The reception girls are so beautiful, my be the most beautiful vietnamese girls I have seen in Vietnam, and so friendly. The bicycle are always ready for you to go the the Old Town, just less than five minute away. My room is on the fourth floor where I can see the villages below and the green rice field a bit away, please choose the room facing to the north.
The swimming pool is not so big but always ready for you after a hot day with clean and dry towers.
The beakfast is so standard with veriety choices: fresh milk, fruits, never forget to try the Vietnamese coffee that they call " ca fe sua da".
come to stay with them and you will have much more than just a hotel on holiday.

Room Tip: the north side is the best if you would like the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

While the hotel is a little away from old town ( 5 min bike ride),everything else is excellent.
And since its a bit off the old town grid, the prices are excellent.

My room was huge. Very well done up and felt like a 4 star at minimum.
Lovely balcony overlooking the pool and beyond.
Breakfast was lovely. Live egg counter et all.

Staff is also very friendly and helpful.

Right opposite the hotel is a bike rental place. Get yourself a scooter and you wont feel you are not in the middle of the action. (The same can be rented from the hotel for a higher price. avoid)

The in-house spa is also wonderful and cheaper than most spas in old town area. Nothing like coming back home to a lovely massage.

Overall, lovely and recommended.

Room Tip: Pool facing, on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sohil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our stay was ok until we checked out. We were charged 2 bottles of beer which we did not consume. The amount was very small and we just paid to get our passports back. That really put us off as incidence like this never happened to us for over 30 years of traveling. For those who wants to stay in this hotel, maybe you should check your mini bar items at checking in to avoid being charged unduly. Sound proofing is very poor. Location of the hotel is far from Hoi An old quarter. I would stay somewhere nearer to the old town if I visit Hoi An again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arangemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A few friends and I visited Hoi An on our way through vietnam. We booked this hotel online before we left because it looked like a nice well priced hotel and when we got there we certainly weren't disappointed.

The first point to note was that the rooms were quite big compared to other hotels we had stayed in. Plenty of room to relax. There was even a couch. 4 of us shared 2 rooms and the staff were very helpful and gave us the option of adjoining rooms or separate rooms but each with a balcony. The service was great, the staff were very friendly and happy to help. We didn't book any tours as we were only in town for a few days but they had plenty of info and tours that you could book.

The hotel isn't located right in the center of town but they have a free shuttle service, free bicycles and most of the time we just walked (which took approx. 20min.) so it was never a problem. The main reason we stopped into Hoi An was to get clothes made. We had a list of tailors to try but when we got there the staff at the hotel suggested we visit their tailor (Thanh Van - Cloth Shop). We were a little skeptical at first as we hadn't heard of their tailor but in the end we decided to go with them and the clothes were excellent.

Breakfast was good and the pool was very clean and excellent after a hot day wondering the street of Hoi An.

Well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LewisOnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We have been travelling in SE Asia for 6 weeks now and decided that for Christmas, we would spend a whole week at a nice hotel. We picked Than Van II on line, hoping for the best! We were not disappointed! Our room is large, clean and beautifully decorated. The maids clean it daily. There is a metal works next door but it has never been too loud and they do not start early or go late. Every member of the staff is super friendly and accommodating. We are greeted by everyone, whether we are coming or going. The buffet breakfast is excellent and fresh every morning. The pool is smaller then we imagined it to be but it is clean and nice to relax by! They even had a Christmas Eve Party for the guests, with complementary wine, coffee, fruit and desserts! Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erinchipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

A friend and I were recommended to this hotel when we arrived at the airport in Danang. The quality of the rooms looked amazing for the price and to be honest they were spacious and well equipped.

As is often the case in Vietnam though there's always something else to be sold. Watch out for their tailor! Firstly they are pushy, which is expected in Vietnam, but the girl in the tailors was also very strange. She kept fondling or groping us! Not cool! If she goes to high five you she'll almost certainly miss and go for your boobs or other areas. Be on your guard.

Sad thing is....of all the tailors i visited when I was in Hoi An (many) she actually wasn't the most pushy and I suspect their clothes are actually of a higher quality than you'd usually get, but the service is very off putting.

Back to the hotel, the dude who owns it is rude, abrupt and not particularly interested in you if you don't show interest in his tailors. There are much nicer places to stay in Hoi An and many that are owned by genuine, lovely Vietnamese who want to make an honest living. Go to one of those.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.4 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#76 of 134 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#62 of 134 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.5 mi away
Trust Villa
Trust Villa
#92 of 134 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hoa My II Hotel
Hoa My II Hotel
#79 of 134 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.3 mi away
Golden Bell Homestay
Golden Bell Homestay
#9 of 134 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Like Hoi An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Like Hoi An Hotel

Property: Like Hoi An Hotel
Address: 467 Hai Ba Trung | Tan An, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Thanh Van 2 Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 134 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Like Hoi An Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Like Hoi An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing