We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place in the world”
Review of For You Bar

For You Bar
Ranked #661 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Asian
Description: The Restaurant is next to the more known River Lounge
Restaurant details
Description: The Restaurant is next to the more known River Lounge
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The worst place in the world”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A westerner gave us a flier for this restaurant, so we naively assumed that it wouldn't be too bad. It turned out to be the worst experience in Hoi An. We ordered a pasta dish, which was horrendously overpriced for Vietnam, though we figured if they had the audacity to charge that much, then it must be good. However it came out as some soggy pasta pieces in a buttery pool of milk, with little bits of onion floating on top. It literally looked, smelled and tasted like vomit. When we politely pointed out to the waitress that we didn't like the meal, we were rudely told that 'a lot of people like it'. Then we said we didn't want it and asked for the bill, and she charged us for it anyway. If you don't know how to cook a dish, don't offer it on your menu. Avoid this place at all costs. The people are rude, the place is filthy dirty and it all seems a bit dodgy. It seems like a nice place because of the view and the lanterns, but I'd rather eat out of a Vietnamese sewer than eat in this place again. The waitress also attempted to sell us trinkets while we were sitting down. Don't go here. Ever.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljh2356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    16
    18
    22
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best to avoid...”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We probably should have ran the other way when a girl scouted us out of the crowd on the street & basically dragged us inside. The woman taking our order had an attitude & it took 20mins to get the coffee i ordered. The lady with the 'tude pretty much wouldn't let us leave until we bought some of her nick-nack crap... Not a great atmosphere, the only good thing was the view of the river but you could get that almost anywhere else...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hold on to your money”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Food was average, drinks were reasonably priced but the women in charge on the night proceeded to hustle, for want of a better word, for money. Long story short, she phoned her granddaughter who is training to be a monk, who rode to the restaurant in order for myself and my partner to give her a donation. Then a request came for me to change some AUD to local currency, I stupidly did this and surprise, surprise, within metres from leaving the restaurant, a young girl was asking for AUD. My advice, stay away, there are other decent restaurants where you don't have to put up with this crap.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good for a beer or two”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We chose this place for a couple of beers before our dinner reservation in town. It was 30k for a big Tiger beer - so I can't complain about the price! But the staff are useless and you have to hunt them down to get service. Plus you get hassled by the locals trying to sell stuff constantly. Its on a nice spot by the river, so its good to people watch while enjoying your ice cold beer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank g_to_the_bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Ok for a cold drink only”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ventured in here before reading the poor reviews. Coffee undrinkable, pancake looked very greasy, decided to pay our bill & leave without eating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jabiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For You Bar also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to For You Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing