We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised after reading some reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vinh Huy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vinh Huy Hotel
Ranked #135 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised after reading some reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and had a nice stay. After checking in and reading some reviews we were a little concerned about staying but had no issues. We took into consideration what others had said and took precautions with our valuables, locked our bags and even snuck in with our clothes made by another tailor (A bit OTT but we were taking no chances). In the end it was a good stay and considering we paid 8 USD a night a great one. Our room wasn't cleaned each day which was our only concern but 8 USD - need I say more

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azza11Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    31
    43
    95
See reviews for
8
81
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

I am normally not a person to write bad reviews but in this case I have to! I arrived in the morning with the nightbus from Dalat and the bus dropped us there. The rooms seemed to be ok and they were cheap so we decided to stay. Everything was ok until next day in the morning: they asked us to move to another room because of a waterbreak and they would need to work in the room (I didn't see any water leaking though!) We agreed on leaving our packed backpacks in the room and move to another room later in the day. When I went back 2 hours later and wanted to get something from the room, they wouldn't give me the key and wouldn't allow me to go in the room... I got scared for my stuff... When I finally managed to get a short look into the room I saw that the room was cleaned and nobody was working on in there. So I went back to the hotel manager to ask him why we had to move the room if there is nobody working.... He started SHOUTING at me that I just have two options either check out or move to the other room... He was really angry and in rage and I asked him quietly to stop screaming at me because I needed to wait for my friend to decide. I tried to calm down the conversation by asking him to stop shouting and I didn't shout at him. But he wouldn't stop shouting and if I wouldn't check out immediatly I would have to pay for another night. He was shouting so loud that I couldn't help it and started to cry (and I normally don't cry that easily). I just went outside and waited for my friend on the street. She managed to get our stuff and payed for the night, but they also screamed at her and the ladies THREW A COKE BOTTLE AT HER that she left behind in the room... We moved to the hotel next door, the rooms are a bit more expenssive (12USD for a double) but the stuff is really nice and they were also suprised that they treated us that bad next door!!!

So even if it is a bit more aford to look for another place it's worth it because you don't wanna have your holiday mood destroyed by somebody screaming at you for no reason!!!
Happy travels!!!
Marie

Room Tip: Next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Upon arrival quoted $15 and later find out people paying $10 which I know happens all the time. I don't mind paying $15 but the shower didn't even work properly and when I mentioned it they didn't even care. I couldn't sleep all night as they put me in one of the downstairs rooms which had an interior window, and close to the reception. At 4am one of the staff begins clearing out his throat loudly for about half an hour. I wasn't warned of the fact that it was a loud room and when asked if I could get a discount they discounted $1!!! They recommended a tailor and when they found out I used a different tailor they then told me they double booked the room and that they weren't sure if they had anything else! Terrible customer service, really don't recommend you stay here. The breakfast was alot and wasn't very nice at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradders1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Level Contributor
356 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Very nice hotel with very helpful staff. We checked in early and was still allowed into our room. Only 1 street away from Old town so very easy to walk to and from the hotel. Staff very friendly and rooms very comfortable. Free WiFi and cable TV. There was also a mini bar.

Room Tip: Friendly staff and nice spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights because there was nowhere else available at the time, before changing to another hotel. The place was infested with rats, the rooms are dirty, poor customer service, they tried to rip us off and when we stated that we werent going to pay any extra than what we owed them he told me to shut up and that he wasnt going to talk to me. We spoke with other people who stayed here and they had a problem with people stealing their clothes when they put them out to the laundry and stealing things from their room. They also persisted on trying to book us on over priced tours and bus/ train tickets which we refused. If its possible do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Bus dropped us here, double rooms we're $10 with fridge and cable tv. We thought it was decent enough. Room was big and spacious, bathroom clean.

Put our stuff in the room and went for a swim in the indoor pool (pointless and tiny), and had some breakfast downstairs. Went back up to the room and 3000 thai baht had been removed from a inside my bag. And the pouch just left on the top of my clothes!

Complained, and they claimed they did not understand what had happened and nothing could be done.

My friend broke her toe and when she asked for any bandage or tape, they laughed at her and sent her away empty handed.

Luckily we were leaving the next day so didn't have to endure much more of their nonsense. Don't stay here, there's plenty more hotels for the same price inside the Ancient Town.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenvizz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

2 days a go we stayed in the vinh huy hotel.
First we thought it was oke, untill we had to pay.
We cound't read the bill because only the owner can wright/speak good english. And he wrote not clear at all.
There were things on the bill that weren't right and he arranged a really expensive
bus ticket to Sapa. He said he could cancel it but when we asked about the bill he
said that if we didn't paid the bill he would't cancel the bus. Than he became really mad en it was really terrible. He yelled at us and he became really agressive, it was quit threatening. There was one guy from England that wanted to help us and so the owner also became really mad at him and he had to leave the hotel. It was crazy.

So we want to warn you, you can better choose something else, there is enough and you don't want to pay a lot of money for things that you didn't use.

Greets from holland.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esthermichorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
1.6 mi away
Trust Villa
Trust Villa
#96 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
#114 of 141 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phuoc An Hotel
Phuoc An Hotel
#101 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoa My II Hotel
Hoa My II Hotel
#92 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
#115 of 141 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Huy Hotel

Property: Vinh Huy Hotel
Address: 203 Ly Thuong Kiet, Hoi An 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Huy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
locates in the heart of hoi an city center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vinh Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing