We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #134 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, excellent value”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Long Life hotel is a very short walk from the Old Town, on the other side of the river. It is well located along a quite street and the vicinity of the river offers a good and pleasant view from the breakfast room.
Our room was large, clean and nice, very well furnished in a modern vietnamese style. We were on the third floor with a balcony and a deckchair, overlooking the nice and enjoyable swimming pool.
The ceiling of our room was the roof itself which was making it 5 meters high with wooden beams and was giving a feeling of house more than hotel room. The sitting area was separated from the bedroom and large enough to almost call the room a junior suite.
The breakfast was excellent, generous and diverse. The pineapple pancake was my highlight !
The two small negative points were the mouldy curtain shower in need to be replaced and the computer full of viruses and crashing after 10 mn of use, quite annoying when in the middle of a transaction (!). A safety box in the room would be most appreciated.
The staff was very nice and they surprised me when they offered me a present the very day of my birthday !
They have also bicycle you can use for free when available. A nice ride to the beach just 3 km away.
This hotel is really an excellent value for money. It is quiet and nice and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0velyPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    278
    158
    87
    90
See reviews for
204
406
55
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Stayed earlier this month in a deluxe river view room for 4 nights. We were happy with our first 2 nights but cant say the same for the next 2 unfortunately.

Great location. Quiet area. Short walk into Old Town.
Staff from the ladies on the front desk to cleaning friendly and very helpful.
Rooms are lovely, very large, everything you could want, balcony small with one chair and table. Bathroom clean, rain shower brilliant but curtain that gives a little privacy between toilet and room falling down on arrival and never fixed although obvious it needed repair.
Lovely tea tray provided but we were expected to take the hot water carafe down to reception (3 flights) wait while filled and then take it back. One of the reception girls did over rule this but the deliverer wasnt very happy. An electric kettle would solve this problem.
Pool is on the small side but looked lovely. Only 6 chairs around pool so getting a spot was tricky.
Great idea to provide in room computer but constantly crashed and was riddled with viruses. WiFi was intermittent (we had own laptop).

Breakfast remains an issue. First 2 days all was great, good selection, constantly restocked, coffee now in an urn so good supply, no problems with seating. Not sure what happened but the opposite was the case for the next 2 days. Had to sit in the lobby type area away from breakfast room, no coffee, no hot water for tea, minimal food, ran out of crockery. Actually left and went and bought breakfast elsewhere.

What sadly really spoiled our stay was very noisy construction work on the roof over our head all day on the Saturday and re started for a short time before 8am on the Sunday. No warning and no apology. Maintenance has to be done at times but warning would have been nice.

Also we had communication problems when booking via the internet. I never mentioned an airport pick up but out of the blue an email arrived saying it would be there, I replied no we dont need this, I then recieved an email acknowledging they wouldn't send a car. On arrival reception seemed upset as they HAD sent a car..once I explained and said I had emails all was OK. I still felt bad about the whole issue so be very clear as to what you require.

I dont usually write negative reviews but feel that this hotel has the potential to be great but need to deal with some issues first.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgetteCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, VIC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Great hotel in an excellent position. Rooms were lovely and great value for money, and the pool was a nice luxury in what can be a hot place! Service was good but not the best we experienced in Vietnam, and breakfast was a bit disappointing, but all in all a great hotel and lovely and new!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Nic83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2010

For myself, one of the most important aspects of a stay in a hotel is the staff. I found the staff to be very helpfull, staff at reception were great, good humoured and efficient, in particular Hom, Te and Me. And i have to give my praise to the breakfast chef, for his skill. A very pleasant stay.
Michael Barton

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_barton_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The new Longlife Riverside Hotel is in an excellent location, right on the river and near the bridge to the old town. We have room 109 which cost $40Us per night for 3 people including breakfast. Room 109 is next to the pool. The hotel itself is clean, rooms are large and very comfortable. Included is a TV, DVD, flat screen computer with internet, spa bath, welcome fruit, 2 large bottles of water each day, hair dryer and a mini bar. The bathroom arrangement is not very practical with the shower and toilet being together so the floor becomes wet around the toilet. Curtains have been put up to sort out the privacy issue which was always a concern with guests at this hotel. The beds are comfortable. Breakfast is a small buffet of rice, noodles, pumpkin soup, toast, eggs cooked to your liking also banana or pineapple pancakes, cheese, jams, yoghurt, cereal, fresh fruit, juice and tea and coffee. There are a few issues with breakfast that need some attention such as cold coffee and no tea bags some mornings. Washing costs 20000 dong per kilo and the mini bar is cheap. Apart from some minor issues the hotel is good value for money and in a perfect position to enjoy the old town of Hoi An. Everything you wish to see and do in the old town is a few minutes away. Bicycles are also free to use. The beach is 4km away and costs 60,000 dong for a taxi. A taxi from the airport is approximately 360,000dong. Overall I recommend this hotel and would happily return. Service is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2010

It seems, that the hotel has already seen its best times. The location is indeed quite good, just five minutes by foot to the city. Free bicycles are also a good value to have. But the communication and wishes are never understood as meant.
It started with the pickup service with a guy who didn't understand the own hotel name and on the name sign was written the first name on it, so it was not easy to find out, which transfer was for us.
We reserved our riverside view room with a jacuzzi months in advance, but it was not available when we arrived, despite two confirming emails short before our arrival. Just a room without Jacuzzi and pool view. The room was not that bad, and a riverside view room with Jacuzzi was promised for the next day. On the next day the promised room was not available ... So we stayed in the first room.

Here are the pros and cons:
+ good location
+ very nice rooms (despite details below)
+ nice pool
+ free bicycles

- Rooms and facilities show partly strong signs of usage, esp. dirty spots all over the walls and a moldy shower curtain
- room was cleaned only on request, then the towels were missing ...
- staff is not good at English, although anxious, so a lot of misunderstandings occur
- breakfast was quite rich, but there weren't enough tables for the guests, so you had to wait to be seated ...
- there was heavy construction during our stay, so it was almost all the time a bit loud
- the most annoying was the communication that didn't seem to work, because everything was mistaken and it was very hard to express our wishes

All in all a good choice for a stay close to the ancient city, but you have to be aware, that it is not as good as the other reviews describe it. However the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredsonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Rooms are very spacious, ours was almost a suite! The massage baths are not all that great, they make a really loud noise and smell like hot plastic. The range of TV channels is very good, the staff are very friendly if inefficient, but best of all are the amenities. Free bike use throughout your stay, an associated tailor with massive discount (20USD for a silk dinner jacket anyone?) and a fantastic and usually empty pool. The breakfasts are only average, with coffee being the Vietnamese pot-over-mug type and cold offerings limited. However, the chef makes a great omelette and good pancakes. The waitresses are very friendly, speak better English than a lot of English people and are engaging. Cleaning staff are good at their job, if not always there (room cleaned at 16:30 one day) and any problems are sorted relatively efficiently by Vietnamese standards. The offering of free high-speed wireless was gratefully recieved, but it crashed whenever we tried to use it. Using Firefox installed on the computer solved the problem quickly, but it wasn't the default browser and it would've been nice to have been told about the connection. Overall, a good hotel with friendly staff and a nice pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhunPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#114 of 153 in Hoi An
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.2 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#30 of 153 in Hoi An
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#66 of 153 in Hoi An
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
#68 of 153 in Hoi An
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa

Property: Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Address: 61 Nguyen Phuc Chu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Long Life Riverside hotel ,all rates are quoted in US dollars and include complimentary breakfast served in the river view, use PC in the room . Our rooms are fully equipped with the latest in-room facilities and amenities including private bathroom with zacuzzi shower and lounge tub, Telephone, satellite TV, DVD player , mini-fridge , safety box , air conditioning , sleeping net , also daily two mineral waters , daily Fruit ,fresh flowers free wireless internet , bicycles and swimming pool in the garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing