We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #109 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Kuranda, Australia
2 reviews
“Value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived without a booking and found ourselves in a $50 room without a balcony but right outside the lovely pool. We loved this large nicely decorated room, with space to spread out, even a tea nook for cups of tea while keeping an eye on my son as he swam in the pool. Breakfasts were really good with nice range of food, lots of fresh fruit and both Asian and western choices. Spa bath didn't appear to work and hot water didn't seem to either but it didn't matter.Staff didn't speak much English but were very friendly and helpful. Free bikes were handy to explore the streets. And the location is fantastic! Away from the noise and crowds but overlooking the river and all the action. Lovely views at night with all the lanterns across the water. Very glad we stumbled across this hotel.

Room Tip: ask to see the room before you decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    271
    155
    82
    76
See reviews for
195
395
53
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel - I returned because of the great location, nice decor, pool and the professionalism and helpfulness of the staff during our first visit. Unfortunately my second visit was during a typhoon, and we did not have power for most of our stay there. If you travel to Hoi An at this time of year, I'd suggest you find out which hotels have generators, as you may encounter bad weather, flooding and blackouts. We can do without the wifi and hot water in this warm weather, but would have liked lights, or even a torch in the room. We were given a lit candle on our last night there. The staff on duty during this visit did not speak very much English, and actually told us when we asked, that the hotel does not ever flood. If you look back through photos on Trip Advisor, you will see that it certainly does. There was just some minor flooding to the lower level the last night of our stay, and we were moved to a higher level floor this night. The staff did their best to serve us what breakfast they were able to obtain and cook with gas during the height of the typhoon. The buffet breakfast was lovely when in full service.

The weather reports we accessed before arriving in Hoi An were mixed, and we suspected we may be caught in flooding. But once we arrived there, many locals told us that the weather would be fine. Luckily we found one very honest shopkeeper, who said that a typhoon and flooding was probable. She said that once we saw a car with a loud speaker going around the streets giving instructions in Vietnamese, that the storm would hit. A restaurant owner the following day said that the message from the speakers that day said that the storm and flooding has finished and take care. We had higher flooding that night. It's sad that the town loses money from the tourists during the inevitable flooding each year, but dissappointing that the locals can be dishonest just to keep you there. We walked through flood waters, ranging from ankle deep to mid thigh, so it wouldn't be advisable to go during flooding with and injuries or disabilities.

I'd stay at this hotel again, but not during their flood season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dajio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. The hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to all of the Hoi An old city attractions. There is also bicycles available for free which is a great way to get around. We had travelled by train overnight to Danang so appreciated the warm welcome and easy check-in. The room we had was very spacious, airy, and although a little tired looking was very clean and had a soft bed!! The breakfast had a fairly large choice and the pancakes were a really yummy! The hotel is tastefully decorated and our room had a balcony overlooking the pool which was a great way to cool off from the Hoi An heat.This hotel is fantastically priced and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Looking over the water to the old town very close to the bridge. Traffic noise barely existent. Bicycles for free use were great for touring. It was patchy rain while we were there so it was great to bike around the old town and back to cafés near our hotel for drinks and people and weather watching! Having teenage children who tired of walking/sightseeing fairly quickly we enjoyed more than a few hours in the lovely pool.
Our room had a bathroom with no door on it but there was an outdoor bathtub upstairs were the children's beds were so helped at shower time. Room was quite quaint. Up two flights of stairs and at the back of the hotel, the only noise was children at school behind and some household noise. No elevator however porters more than happy to move luggage for us. Breakfast was ok but dining room too small to fit more than a handful of families at a time or to appreciate views over the water.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were dubious to stay at this hotel due to all the recent bad reviews but we went to see it and it was lovely and we really wanted to stay. We talked with the staff about the bad reviews – about the noise from the construction site next door – they told us the noise was over. So we decided to stay and there was no noise from the construction site – we slept very well. The hotel is beautiful – very tastefully decorated in a Chinese style. The rooms are big, all seem to have a suite and a Jacuzzi. The breakfast was really good – there was a buffet that was often replenished (even had brown bread), and there was a cook making egg dishes, pancakes etc. The staff were great. And the hotel is very central – by the river. We paid $50 for a room without a balcony. Can’t say enough good things about this hotel – so glad we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyFranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location to explore the old town of Hoi An. After our first night our daughters decided they did not want to share the double bed. Requested if we could change the bed over and instead they upgraded our room to a larger room with separate beds for our daughters. Excellent restaurant recommendations from the hotel staff along with a friendly smile each morning. Very happy with this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stueys-Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to a very frosty reception but were delighted with the size of our room so didn't think too much of it. We struggled to get wifi reception and our shower was cold, but again, we were impressed by the room itself. It had gone downhill by the morning though as the air-conditioning had switched off at about 5am and we were woken up by an extremely loud building site just opposite. Of course this was not the fault of the hotel, but we were not warned by them and the hotel was by no means full, so they should have used other rooms, away from the work. Our showers were still cold in the morning, which we very much resented given our lack of sleep. The final straw was when we arrived at breakfast to find flies swarming around the uncovered buffet food and then there were DEAD flies in the sealed orange juice dispenser. We left the breakfast and packed our bags. At reception, we cancelled our next two days of reservation and asked if we could have a discount for all of the problems. We were offered a $5 discount between the three of us - not even enough to buy a decent breakfast somewhere else. When we asked to speak to the manager, we found out there was no manager on site - perhaps a major part of this hotel's problem. In the end, we were not allowed to speak to the manager on the phone and told that our request to speak to her was making her angry. Excuse me??!!! Exactly how can a manager claim that a customer is making her angry??!!! Then we were THREATENED that if we didn't pay the full bill minus the insulting $5 discount offered, our passport details would be passed to the authorities. Finally we were also told that if we didn't pay, the manager would take the money out of the hotel staff salaries. I think that sums up the ethos of this hotel perfectly - they respect their staff as little as their customers.

As I say, the hotel looks very nice, but that is as far as it goes. The whole experience was disgraceful, especially the fact that we were not allowed to discuss our genuine complaint with the manager of the hotel. There are so many hotels in Hoi An, I would simply choose another one as this one will seriously shorten your life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#104 of 140 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#62 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#31 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.5 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa

Property: Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Address: 61 Nguyen Phuc Chu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Long Life Riverside hotel ,all rates are quoted in US dollars and include complimentary breakfast served in the river view, use PC in the room . Our rooms are fully equipped with the latest in-room facilities and amenities including private bathroom with zacuzzi shower and lounge tub, Telephone, satellite TV, DVD player , mini-fridge , safety box , air conditioning , sleeping net , also daily two mineral waters , daily Fruit ,fresh flowers free wireless internet , bicycles and swimming pool in the garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing