We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In decline”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #139 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In decline”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Based on our book guide we decided to stay in this hotel during our days in Hoi An. We checked it out on internet and the pictures were very beautiful, and also the location was very convenient for us. BUT if I could go back I would never have chosen this hotel.

First of all, there were plenty of rust stains in the bathtub, so impossible to have a relaxing bath. But it was even worst when you turned on the water tap: water was not clear but yellow/brown!!! In fact, we used mineral water to wash our teeth.

The rest of the room was very pretty at the first sight, but when you look to the details, it is evident that the maintenance of the whole hotel is very poor.

Regarding the breakfast it was correct, our only complaint is that the coffee was undrinkable, the rest of food and drinks were very good.

When we checked out we spend 20 minutes arguing with the receptionist because she said that we couldn’t not pay by credit card (even offering ourselves to pay an extra 3%) because when we checked in we said that we would pay in cash. Finally she called her boss and we could pay by credit card (paying the +3%).

Room Tip: Check the bathroom (especially water taps) before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    280
    158
    87
    92
See reviews for
207
407
55
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel a few months ago as the reviews had been fantastic! However, more recent reviews have been more accurate. Yes the location is perfect and they have a lovely little pool which is great to cool off in but the overall standard of the hotel was poor. On first appearance when you check in your room seems fantastic, lovely towel shaped swan and rose petals on the bed. The room is lovely and big with a nice bath etc. However, the bathroom floods when you shower, which you can cope with if the floor was cleaned every day but its not, we had a dead cockroach in the corner for the 3 nights we stayed. They didn't replace your towels so had to go and ask which isn't the end of the world but generally you are in a queue of people complaining. The biggest flaw for this hotel is the building site next door which starts from 6am! We had ear plugs with us thankfully but others didn't. There is a reason it's so reasonable to stay there but just to warn you it's not as wonderful as you first think. The staff were lovely though but it just felt like they had given up trying to be a good hotel like mentioned by other travellers, could be to do with the building site next door (which has a good 12 months to go)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Heard a lot of good things about this hotel before getting here but once we arrived it soon became apparent it's a hotel on the decline. We've found the place to be poorly maintained (ranging from showers flooding everything to bits of metal sticking out underwater in the pool). Front desk have been all smiles but we didnt recieve towels or toilet rolls when the room was cleaned each day. Possibly the worst factor is the building site around the hotel. We have been woken up as early as 0630 by them doing work and I've seen several guest be moved after complaining (although I doubt it makes much difference as noise is consistent in the rest of the hotel). Doesn't match my experiences of other hotels in Vietnam, which usually above a certain (yet very reasonable) price has excellent service and facilities. I would look for other accommodation in the area as there are stunning places around and give this a miss - the only saving grace is how close it is to the old town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The location is great, since you can walk right across the bridge into the old town of Hoi An. There are many other good aspects, but there are some drawbacks, too. It is, overall, an attractive hotel. The small pool is nice, and my tween daughter really enjoyed it. It is a clean place and the staff is generally quite friendly and helpful. The front desk staff, though, was often hard to communicate with. We were unable to communicate several of our concerns, and that was a major reason we cut our stay short. We'd reserved a "family suite room," which was described via email as having "two bedrooms." Two bedrooms=two beds with some furniture between them. Breakfast was pretty good, but we enjoyed breakfast more at other hotels in Vietnam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Long Life Riverside hotel is set just off the banks of the River. It is set back from the bustle of the main town, which is located a short walk across the bridge.

The rooms were spacious, clean and modern. There was a computer and TV in room and fresh fruit on arrival.

The breakfasts were delicious and it was were I had the best scrambled eggs in Vietnam! Lots of fruit and french pastries as well as Vietnamese delights.

The staff were very friendly and if we ever needed anything were very attentive.

The swimming pool, although not huge, is a welcome cool down to the relentless heat. It is very clean and goes to a good depth.

Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLester2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I too like many others who have written reviews of this hotel was unimpressed.
We booked a room with city views only to look out our window to be looking into the next door neighbors bedroom ( who had a Tom cat yowling all night)And behind that was a construction of a building going on which started very early in the morning.
There was one packet of coffee in the room (which was disgusting)and when we asked for more they told us "one room, one coffee". In general the staff were very unhelpful, did not speak English very well at all. The staff seemed to hang around in the lobby and talk.
The toilet was in the shower cublcle and there was no shower curtain in between so every time you had a shower the Toilet got a shower too. The shower was not clean either.
The potable water they used was salt water -yuk!!!
The restaurant food was not bad, but not air conditioned and hot, the tables were not clean and the food limited.
The laundry service leaves a lot to be desired. We sent our washing away and requested that some of it be ironed, it came back unironed but we were charged for it. When we told reception about it, they sent it away again to get it ironed, once again it came back unironed- we gave up.
The receptionist asked us about our experience at the hotel and when we told her of our concerns she basically wiped us.
Our experience was not a good one.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I always took reports of hotel thefts with a grain of salt but no more. After letting the cleaning staff in for a quick clean we returned to find that my sunglasses were missing. I specifically left them in my hat on the desk. After looking everywhere I found them tucked in an obscure drawer that was even hard to open. I am sorry but this was no accident!!! Our room safe was also broken. All of this was reported in a friendly and discrete manner BUT nothing was really done.

The hotel needs a lot of repairs and the bathrooms that look good online leak water everywhere.

Breakfast is ok unless you are there past 0730, they run out of food.

It seems salt water is used for potable water. The coffee and tea is made with tap water....which is salt water, not very tasty.

The cleaning staff yell down the hallways at 0700 so I you want to sleep past 7 forget it. At least you make breakfast?!?

We are glad to move on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank repat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#119 of 155 in Hoi An
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.2 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#31 of 155 in Hoi An
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#64 of 155 in Hoi An
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
#62 of 155 in Hoi An
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa

Property: Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Address: 61 Nguyen Phuc Chu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Long Life Riverside hotel ,all rates are quoted in US dollars and include complimentary breakfast served in the river view, use PC in the room . Our rooms are fully equipped with the latest in-room facilities and amenities including private bathroom with zacuzzi shower and lounge tub, Telephone, satellite TV, DVD player , mini-fridge , safety box , air conditioning , sleeping net , also daily two mineral waters , daily Fruit ,fresh flowers free wireless internet , bicycles and swimming pool in the garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing