We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dodgy cleaning staff. Keep ANY valuables locked up. Salt water???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #145 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I always took reports of hotel thefts with a grain of salt but no more. After letting the cleaning staff in for a quick clean we returned to find that my sunglasses were missing. I specifically left them in my hat on the desk. After looking everywhere I found them tucked in an obscure drawer that was even hard to open. I am sorry but this was no accident!!! Our room safe was also broken. All of this was reported in a friendly and discrete manner BUT nothing was really done.

The hotel needs a lot of repairs and the bathrooms that look good online leak water everywhere.

Breakfast is ok unless you are there past 0730, they run out of food.

It seems salt water is used for potable water. The coffee and tea is made with tap water....which is salt water, not very tasty.

The cleaning staff yell down the hallways at 0700 so I you want to sleep past 7 forget it. At least you make breakfast?!?

We are glad to move on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank repat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 926 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here and the hotel was quite good. Rooms are spacious and the location of the hotel is terrific, just across the bridge from the town. The bathrooms could do with some re-working, the showerheads spray water everywhere and there was no shower curtain. Not a huge problem - just need to be careful of the water on the floor. Pool area is small but if you just want a quick dip to cool off it works well. Breakfast is average and the breakfast area isn't air conditioned so can get rather warm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussybutFair44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Poor customer service, hotel is in bad shape food ok. I was just too tired to find another hotel. It is exasperating dealing with the front desk. The location Is good and we used their bikes that is the most positive thing I can say

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellnicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

the stay at this lonely planet suggested hotel was disapppionting. the service was terrible and the staff seemed like they didnt care about their guests at all. the breakfast buffet was empty at 8:30, i had to ask them to clear the tables, get bread, jam, butter... everything was either stale, melted, dirrty tables and if you arent the first person arriving you have to set the table ypurself. while you are doing it the staff is watching you. not trying to be complicated but the friendliness i experienced in all the vietnamese hotels (even very cheap ones) was completly missing.

the pool is little but could be pretty if there werent old (yellow and dirty) used towels piled up everywhere. again no one seemed to care. also they lost items in laundry - fine happens. but an apology would have been appreciated. these are just examples of a three day stay.
the hotel and the rooms would be really pretty if the terrible service wouldn't ruin it. not recommending, sorry lonely planet.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We are a family of five booked the family room which was one of the largest and spacious rooms we have booked in IndoChina. Our first room ac wasn't working so the next day we were changed to another room, the staff were helpful and great with all our requests and the pool is a welcome relief after a hard days touring. Loved the location right in the heart of the ancient town fabulous.

Room Tip: Room 306 is the bomb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katienchrishill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The ups: Large, clean rooms with modern bathrooms and good a/c. Free bottled water (1.5l) in your room every day. Nice (but really! small) pool. Free bikes (first come, first served). Location.
The downs: Grumpy greeting. Breakfast theoretically huge but rarely refilled (buffet almost always empty, dirty tables). Clothes lost in laundry service wirhout sincere apology. Messy piles of sheets and towels all over pool area and corridors. Long waiting times (1.5h) when needing anything in the room (our safe was broken).
In conclusion: a very pretty but rather expensive bed to sleep in. You definitely have to look after yourself, most staff simply can't be bothered.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baghira87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a long bus ride from hue, really looking forward to a stay in this lovely hotel. Walking into the reception area our eyes lit up because the hotel was beautiful as was promised by lonely planet. But, the receptionist greeted us with not much more than a sneer, grumpily brought us to our rooms and nearly slammed the door in our faces. The room was lovely, nicely decoraged and very spacious. The small pool offers welcome refreshment and after the off start we were looking forward to our stay.
Sadly the service did not improve whatsoever. They lost a piece of clothing of ours when doing our laundry and weren't especially sorry about it.
They try offering their guests a nice breakfast buffet. But the table cloths are very dirty (and i'm not picky, mind you) and even when kindly asked to change them, the staff just shrugged. The buffet was entirely cleaned out - which can happen and would be okay, if the 4 staff members present were working. Instead, they were chatting and found the increasingly agitated guests funny. After 30 minutes at least parts of the buffet were refilled.

Overall not a very pleasant stay, which is a shame, because the hotel would be very pretty and is located very central. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingeryfication
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#125 of 159 in Hoi An
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#30 of 159 in Hoi An
839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#143 of 159 in Hoi An
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa

Address: 61 Nguyen Phuc Chu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $31 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Long Life Riverside hotel ,all rates are quoted in US dollars and include complimentary breakfast served in the river view, use PC in the room . Our rooms are fully equipped with the latest in-room facilities and amenities including private bathroom with zacuzzi shower and lounge tub, Telephone, satellite TV, DVD player , mini-fridge , safety box , air conditioning , sleeping net , also daily two mineral waters , daily Fruit ,fresh flowers free wireless internet , bicycles and swimming pool in the garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing