We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for location and price”
Review of Tan Phuong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tan Phuong
Ranked #125 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OK for location and price”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Dont come with tout, Taxi or "friendly locals"!
The 8Dollars for a double room hot shower andTV in "clen" Room for Vietnam is ok. But dont expect a bargain.
They tried not to give us a room but to bring us to their homestay, further away. Much nicer for only little more they told us. We did not want to be further away as Hoi An is a place for one afternoon, not more, a very expensive shopping mall full of scammers.
No prob if you miss it you mainly missed some ancient scams, no more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    14
    6
    12
See reviews for
4
16
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The rooms were tidy and clean for the price we paid. After reading other reviews in regards to the manager we were very wary of him however he only tried to take us to his brother or cousins tailor shop once and there was no further talk of tailoring and pushing us into tours during our stay.

Breakfast was greasy, however was included in the room. But if able to get the room cheaper with no breakfast we would highly recommend this and go to the lady two doors down for yum pancakes.

All in all not a bad place considering the location and price. A reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff are very pushy...constantly trying to sell you tours.
The manager is manipulative and nosy and often acts in an inappropriate way.

The food is greasy and dull.

Be careful what you tell the staff here..they are very indiscreet and will use it to embarass you.
Avoid this place like the plague!

Room Tip: Don't stay here...you'll regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I am currently staying at Tan Phuong Hotel. Arrived there because my driver convienently dropped me there. I imagine there is some comission involved there. Even though I explained to them that I was looking for a room cheaper than $10 they wouldnt let me go. After 30 minutes, they decided to finally show me a $7 room, that's probably worth about 3. I am a backpacker so I don't mind too much, but the shower-toilet (understand squat toilet cubicle with shower on top, so you shower at the same place where you relieve yourself) is quite interesting. There was also a problem with the lights and instead of fixing it straight away, they tried again to sell me the $10 one. When I accepted the room, they harassed me at least 7 times in 10 minutes for me to give them my passport. Other annoying details including them charging me for using their phone even though the call lasted a minute, them advertising the free computers at the reception when only one works. When mentionned, they did not even care. And when I bought my bus through them, they tried to charge me more (when converting from dollars to dong, they nicely added a few mysterious thousands), but thankfully, I realised in time. The cleaners scream in the corridor at 7am. Finally only one plug socket works in the room (one completely comes off the wall!) so you have to choose between watching tv or using the fan. They are desperate and they dont even try to be nice to their customers. I think when I leave tomorrow, I will advise them to go and read their review on Trip Advisor

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froggyfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Well, accommodation is really expensive in Hoi An normally cause there are no real hostels. I found this place and they gave me a single room (big!) with a fan, private bathroom and a huge bed for 5 dollars. What was more to expect than a mouldy and dirty room? And that's what I got.
The man (the owner) is always trying to sell you trips and tickets, and he can hardly accept if you buy tickets anywhere else though you've got it cheaper. The woman and the girl speak really bad English, and when the owner is not at the hotel most of the day it gets difficult to communicate which is why I didn't buy my tickets from them. They use a bus company with bad ratings and many accidents in their scrapbook, and the girl told me that the internet lied, because it was the best company... That made her seem to be a really untrue person to me, so I didn't book anything.
They close the door outside at 10-11 pm so every night I came back home I had to yell and knock the door to wake up another old man who is working there and sleep in the reception every single night...
Well! If you don't mind to sleep in a mouldy place, a staff that's ALWAYS trying to get your money and never let you relax so that you have to wake up the angry receptionist every night to enter the hotel, this is a good hotel for a cheap price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasper-Hz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orford, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Rooms smell really bad and evrything is humid and full of mold... Even the head lamp and cushions were rotten!!

The bad room is very small and the rooms are on the small side also.

There is a fridge, TV and wifi in the room but go on Ba Trieu street just 5 minute walk from there closer to town and you'll find better hotels at same price (10$/night).

Don't let them charge you more for AC and stuff like this just pretend you leave and they will include it right away.

AVOID IT!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathlitalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

When we arrived 2 of our friends had booked in and were told $8 per night for the room. We asked for the same deal but were told due to them only having a big room available ( 3 double beds) that it would be $13. We managed to slightly bargain to pay $21 for 2 nights. At first the staff seemed friendly, however this changed when the next day we were told we had to move rooms or pay an extra $5. After numerous arguments with the manager and the lady working there trying to tell them we had agreed a price and that is what we are paying for the same room we didn't get anywhere. Normally I wouldn't mind changing rooms but I had a stomach bug which they showed no sympathy for . We found the staff severely lacking good customer service. This is the worst place we have stayed in since arriving in Asia 2 months ago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachandDan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#130 of 144 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoa My II Hotel
Hoa My II Hotel
#91 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thanh Binh II Hotel
Thanh Binh II Hotel
#133 of 144 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Travel Lodge Hotel
Hoi An Travel Lodge Hotel
#31 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
0.2 mi away
Phuoc An Hotel
Phuoc An Hotel
#100 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Phuong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Phuong

Property: Tan Phuong
Address: 209 Ly Thuong Kiet, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tan Phuong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing