We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour but not enough cycling”

Heaven and Earth Bicycle Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.00*
and up
Real Vietnam Bicycle Tour from Hoi An
More Info
$17.00*
and up
Afternoon Countryside Bike Tour from Hoi An
More Info
$24.00*
and up
Countryside Bicycle Tour from Hoi An
Ranked #2 of 147 Outdoor Activities in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Immerse yourself for a half day or a full day into native Viet Nam. This bicycle tour will take you far away from the beaten tracks. You will discover the genuine customs and traditions of the Vietnamese peasants. You will long remember these unforgettable moments spent in the heart of traditional Viet Nam. A truly unique experience.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great tour but not enough cycling”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We took the morning tour.

This tour is great because of the tour girls. They are so friendly, funny and informative. They're more like a comedy duo than tour guides.

The area you visit is very pretty and it's not a difficult bike ride at all. The boat trip back can be a little cold so take a jacket!

The only problem is that there wasn't enough cycling for me. You cycle around the old town, but you will have already seen it, then onto the boat, cycle for 5 minutes and then stop to visit a boat makers and a mother of pearl workshop. You're not expected to buy anything.

You then ride a bit more before going on basket boats and taking a break at a drink area. Then you ride to lunch. Then you get on the boat back.

The tour is good and the places you see are interesting but there's very little cycling.

I just wanted to ride a bike a bit more.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jack Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heaven_earth_hoian, Propriétaire at Heaven and Earth Bicycle Tours, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello Jack,

First of all, I’d like to thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed in the distance of the tour in which you participated. However you selected the “Countryside Tour”, and as it indicates on our website and on the leaflet, this tour is only 9 km long with several stops for visits.

For those who wish to do more cycling, we recommend the “Real Vietnam” full day 25 km tour, the “Adventure Tour”, a full day, 50km tour, or our newest tour, “Just for the Ride” a 45 km half-day tour.

Concerning cycling across the town, in order to reach the boat from our office meeting point, we must cross Hoi An, but we do not make any stops along the way.

You seem to have enjoyed your day despite the short distance covered. Thank you again for have participated. We hope to see you again for one of our longer tours!

Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,088
    226
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great way to see the "roads less traveled" in Hoi An”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our Hotel (Betel Garden Homestay, a wonderful place to stay!) has bicycles for free for guests. After biking down to the ocean beaches one day, we wanted to avoid the 'hustle and bustle' of the city. Heaven and Earth has an excellent Countryside Bicycle Tour. Two motorcycle "taxis" (really Heaven and Earth representatives picked us up at the Betel Garden Homestay at 8:10AM and took us through downtown "ancient" Hoi An to Heaven and Earth. Our bicycles were not new but were in very serviceable condition.

We had two Guides, the lead guide was Lienh and her assistant was Flower. Both spoke wonderful English and were very animated during the trip. We took a boat loaded with us (all on bicycles) plus a dozen or so motorcycles across to the island. Then we visited a Bamboo boat building maker, a 'mother of Pearl' craftsman making various plates, dishes, and wedding bowls with very detailed inlay. After seeing the work that goes in a piece, the prices seem very reasonable. We visited an incense making family, that manufactured the incense sticks for the Buddha, celebrations, ancestors and even for your garden for good luck. We visited a local area where they made the round bamboo basket boats and even got a chance to row in one. My wife did great, I didn't. It is difficult to row (actually only one oar) in a round basket bamboo boat. Great fun and everybody in our group of 10 gave it a try.

We then had a lunch (included in the tour price) of either chicken, fish or veggie, complete with tasty Morning Glory (definitely NOT the Morning Glory plants/weeds we have in the US). We then visited a bamboo carpet weaving family and saw how the carpets were made.

We then biked down to the boat, loaded the bikes and ourselves for the trip back to Hoi An. We got back to Hoi An around 3:30PM. We may have biked 5 miles or so but the stops along the way were well worth it. All in all a wonderful tour at a good value!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonJonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rural life - discover the real Vietnam on bike.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Fantastic 6 hour easy bike ride in rural Vietnam. Went from Hoi An to an island by boat. No cars here. Just motor bikes & bicycles.
Such a beautiful day and so picturesque. We learned so much about how the average person lives and saw many trades of this island. Weaving of sleeping mats - we got to try, making of incense - had a hand at making them, making pictures out of shells, boat making, making round fishing boats and we got to try to row them.
Our guide was very knowledgable & had a great sense of humour.
It was a day of fun & learning
I highly recommend taking this tour. And oh yes the bikes were great and the seats comfortable

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montceau les Mines, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Funny and interesting”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Jiang. Our tour guide was very nice. This smart girl and her friend care about you all day long.
They are proud to share vietnamese actual and traditions culture.
Good surprises all the way long.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank martymartyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“bicicle trip around Hoi An”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very enjoyable bicicle-day in Hoi An and its surroundings. The tour guide was very prepared and funny, she gave us many interesting notions about local people and their work.
I think it's worth the relatively not low price though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heaven and Earth Bicycle Tours also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Heaven and Earth Bicycle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing